In threes

Digital Manga is having kind of an interesting week.

First of all, their Pop Travel Service gets a quick profile in the travel section of The New York Times.

Then they announce a contest to encourage sign-ups for their mail order catalog, though I’m not entirely sure what that catalog will offer. Seriously, is it for manga? Merchandise? Cosplay accessories? All of the above?

And this week’s ComicList notes the arrival of Yuno Ogami’s L’Etoile Solitaire, which the publisher describes as “its first original manga.” (It’s about romance in the hospitality industry.) The Juné blog partially answers a question before I can ask it, and points to Ogami’s English-language blog. I’m assuming the eventual plan is to “untranslate” the book and sell it in Japan, right?

5 Responses to In threes

  1. gynocrat says:

    It’s a real live JOEL! [I swear, I can feel my testicles dropping.]

    Nah, the plan is this: since many fen feel that Japanese mangaka piss perfume and shit diamonds when it comes to making ‘real yaoi’, they’re simply playing it smart as a pub and catering to this concept, by making original English language content using a Japanese mangaka.

    Love Tina,
    A Writer.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    It does seem canny in a “fresh from Japan especially for you” kind of way. (And it’s taking all my strength not to make a horrible B[il]L[y] JOEL joke.)

    Wish I could figure out what Ogami’s publishing track record is like.

  3. Chloe says:

    I sincerely hope the catalogue not for manga, since I can’t even wrap my mind around how they could compete against a plethora of websites offering to send you any title overnight/with tracking/at a discount [check all that apply…]

  4. gynocrat says:

    I sincerely hope the catalogue not for manga

    It’s likely going to be for things like ‘merchandise'; things that will wear all the cool ‘co-brands’ they’re now sporting.

  5. […] [Question] Am I missing something, or is this the first OEL manga ever produced by an established Japanese manga-ka? And no, before you ask, I’m not including the cartoonists who’ve dabbled in Marvel comic books here. (Above: promotional image for L’Etoile Solitaire, taken from the artist’s website; ©2007 Yuno Ogami. Link via David Welsh.) […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

