Upcoming 1/9/2008

Now this is a light week in the comic shops. Really. It is. There are a few items of note, though.

Whenever I see people who don’t normally read super-hero comics recommend something from that category, it tends to go on my mental checklist. Combine that with people who don’t normally seek out comics by Warren Ellis recommending something from that category, and I’ve got a double, counter-intuitive recommendation on my hands. That kind of critical math worked out well with the first volume of Ellis and Stuart Immonen’s Nextwave: Agents of H.A.T.E. (Marvel), so I’m looking forward to the second collection, I Kick Your Face.

Hey, is this the paperback debut of Black Hole (Pantheon) by Charles Burns? Maybe I’ll finally get around to reading it.

And while I don’t see it on the ComicList, consensus indicates that the first volume of Katsu Aki’s Manga Sutra: Futari H is due out from Tokyopop. White-hot edu-manga for newlyweds? Too weird to pass up. And I’ve been looking for something to pair with The Manga Bible for an upcoming Flipped column.

5 Responses to Upcoming 1/9/2008

  1. Johanna says:

    ComicList puts adult titles on a second page with some kind of bogus warning about them not being responsible for the info. The Tokyopop book is listed there this week.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Thanks, Johanna! I kind of figured it was something like that.

  3. Huff says:

    Futari Ecchi is one of the weirdest things I’ve read. You’ll just be sitting there, reading your awkwardly romantic smut when BAM!, a pop-up hits you with some kind of statistic like what percentage of Japanese couple have kinky sex or something. Unsurprisingly, the parts I read were a little dry but I’ll probably check the domestic edition out. I could see it being entertaining down the road and it was better than most of the crap that runs in Young Animal (not that that’s an achievement).

    And that volume of Nextwave may very well have the greatest title ever.

  4. […] Welsh looks at this week’s new comics, a lean selection aside from Tokyopop’s Manga Sutra. The MangaCast team pick the best of the […]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

