I’m scared

April 16, 2008

Every time I go to Comic Book Resources, the floating head of Stan Lee stalks me as I try to scroll down the page.

I hate pushy web advertisements.


Theoretical hounding

April 16, 2008

I’m not going to make it to this year’s New York Comic Con, but if I were there, I’d be hounding Fanfare/Ponent Mon’s Stephen Robson as much as possible. And just because I love their books, here’s Fanfare’s press release about convention plans and upcoming titles. Commence squeeing after the cut. (And if you’re going to the con, buy one of Fanfare’s books. You won’t regret it.)

Read the rest of this entry »


Dogs and monsters

April 16, 2008

Some picks from the ComicList for Wednesday, April 16, 2008:

Viz does all the heavy lifting this week, which is a rather lean one.

I’ve already read the fourteenth volume of Naoiki Urasawa’s Monster, and it’s pretty much superb. This series has really built into a terrific suspense story as the characters have developed.

I’m a bit behind on Kazuo Umezu’s The Drifting Classroom, which concludes with its 11th volume. I’ll have to schedule a profoundly disturbing read-a-thon at my earliest convenience.

Then I can calm my nerves with some catch-up reading of Yukia Sakuragi’s Inubaka: Crazy for Dogs, which has reached its eighth volume.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers