Anemia

February 6, 2009

I hope ICv2 releases a little more information on how it calculated its 2008 graphic novel sales figures, because a 17% drop in manga sales? Ouch. And the development certainly demands more scrutiny than pointing the finger at those Twilight books.


Friday fun

February 6, 2009

In her latest “All the Comics in the World” column at comiXology, Shaenon K. Garrity asks comics professionals the all-important question, “If you could take only one comic to a desert island, what would it be?”

During the small handful of acting classes I took in college, I was always accused of “playwriting” during improvisational exercises… needlessly complicating the task with lots of self-indulgent extrapolation. Nothing has changed, obviously, since I immediately asked myself, “Well, okay, but will I be using it for recreational reading to distract me from my plight? A possible source of fuel? A weapon?”

Of course, the obvious answer for all three purposes is Jeff Smith’s Bone: One Volume Edition (Cartoon Books). I can read it over and over again, it’s heavy enough to use as a cudgel against wild boars (though a hardcover edition would probably hold up better), and, should the situation become really dire, there’s plenty of pulp in there to use as a starter when I try and fire up the driftwood, though I would be extremely reluctant to use it in that manner.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers