Har

A panel from "Even a Monkey Can Draw Manga"

After last week’s Flipped, I decided a lightening of tone was in order.

Moving on to deeper issues, am I really the only one who cares that an all-male theater troupe is doing a stage version of Fruits Basket? Seriously?

Update: The estimable John Jakala offers five more funny books. And by that I mean “books that are funny” and not grandpa saying, “In my day, funnybooks cost a nickel, and Dr. Light kept his tights on, consarn it.”

9 Responses to Har

  1. LillianDP says:

    I was actually going to comment before that no one commented on the FruBa musical. :-) I’m mostly just jealous because I think Stu has tickets, though. *sniffle*

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I will sniffle at your side. Because really, how could it not be awesome?

  3. Simon Jones says:

    Panels such as that last one is why I’ve always argued that Monkey is not a parody, but an evil book of forbidden knowledge.

    And now I shall see how much I can fetch for it on eBay.

  4. LillianDP says:

    Given the awesomeness of the Prince of Tennis, Sailor Moon and Bleach musicals, which don’t even have all-male casts (well, PoT does, but only because there aren’t any girls in the series to begin with…), how could this possibly go wrong?

    I’m sure it’ll be up on YouTube one of these days. Thank god for the intarwebs.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    Okay, it just seems to me that the Sailor Moon musical would be orders of magnitude better with an all-male cast, but I realize that mileage may vary.

    And Simon, my copy let out low, rumbling laughter when I opened it, so it’s possible that you’re right.

  6. LillianDP says:

    Oh, don’t you be dissin’ on the Sailor Moon musicals! Cute guys wearing skirts and singing does tend to improve just about everything, but those are really pretty amazing already. And very, very shiny.

    Y’know, as gender-bendy as Fruits Basket started out, it’s kind of astonishing how hetero-normative everything ended up. Whereas Sailor Moon, particularly in the anime, has a central straight couple, and then an impressive assortment of same-sex relationships and general queerness featured in the side characters. It’s good stuff.

    As a side note, Sailor Moon is also one of the few fandoms where most of my favorite writers were men writing het (with a smattering of yuri). Not sure what I make of that, but it seemed significant at the time.

  7. Connie says:

    That last panel of Even a Monkey Can Draw Manga took a minute to sink in, and I made a similar joke no less than two days ago. My hat’s off to you, sir. Plus, you made me remember I still need to pick up Cromartie High School.

  8. John Jakala says:

    It’s sad, but I am only a few steps from being that cranky curmudgeon. I remember when I could walk down to the local grocery store and buy four comics for a dollar, and they all told a complete story, and the cover was relevant to the contents, and the heroes even won from time to time, dagnabbit.

    And since I’ve enjoyed all the other series on your list, I’m adding the two I’ve never read so far (Maison Ikkoku and Your and My Secret) to my “to read” list. Thanks for the recommendations!

  9. davidpwelsh says:

    No problem! Hope you like them. Maison is probably my favorite Takahashi series, though I admit that I’m daunted by the length of most of the other choices. I love her short stories in the Rumic Theatre books too.

    And thanks for pointing out the cheap (but ultimately unfinished, and thus heartbreaking) Club 9 bundle!

    Also, I’m totally that cranky old man, though I think I actually remember buying a Wonder Woman comic at the drug store that cost me one thin dime.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

