Point and click

This week’s Flipped is up. I take a look at Viz’s SIGIKKI site and the many interesting titles previewed there. Over at Manga Worth Reading, Johanna Draper Carlson has taken a two-part look at various titles and is running a poll on readers’ early favorites.

3 Responses to Point and click

  1. David says:

    Nice article. While I agree that Viz is to be commended for trying to put out more sophisticated work, I can’t say that I found any of the SIGIKKI works previewed so far, aside from Children of the Sea, particularly impressive, or even sophisticated. I’m enjoying some of the Viz Signature books published so far, such as Pluto and Oishinbo, but I don’t see anything in the new batch that looks particularly special. Still, I hope Viz will keep this initiative going. It’s definitely got potential.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Glad you liked it! I’ll half-agree with you on the sophistication level, though I do think Children, Saturn and I’ll Give it My All… go some ambitious and interesting places. And Kingyo gives me the warm fuzzies.

  3. James Moar says:

    I’ve said this a couple of places already, but Bokurano gets better after the setup in the first three chapters, when it starts focussing on the lives of each of the kids in turn.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

