The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: A

“A” is for…

airevolution

aishiteruzebaby

apothecariusargentum

What are some of your favorite shôjo titles that start with the letter “A”?

26 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: A

  1. Ace wo Nerae and Applause, neither of which are out in English and are technically josei – as is most of the “shoujo” put out in English. Although “Ace” can probably never come out here due to the appearance of recognizable celebrities in tennis from the time, Applause should *definitely* be translated. Folks who like “Swan” should also enjoy “Applause.”

    Cheers,

    Erica

    Hungry for Yuri? Have some Okazu!
    http;//okazu.blogspot.com

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Applause is definitely in the license request queue.

  3. Amber Barth says:

    Absolute Boyfriend by Yuu Watase. Ok. so it’s not the BEST manga out there, but it’s an emotional kicker (those kind get me every time!).

  4. Julia L says:

    Is After School Nightmare shojo? It’s certainly one of those titles that snuck up on me.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    It is, Julia, and I really, really love it, but I’ve written about it a million times already, so I thought I’d go with lesser-known-but-still-neat titles.

  6. elisegrey says:

    After School Nightmare! But of course.

  7. badzphoto says:

    A is for Aqua, Aria, Astral Project, Azumanga Daioh, and Alice 19th

  8. davidpwelsh says:

    Oh, man, if I was doing The Manga Alphabet, I’d be doomed, badzphoto, though I agree with all of your choices, plus Antique Bakery and many others. But for shojo purposes, I totally agree on Alice 19th… an underrated Watase gem.

  9. badzphoto says:

    Sorry, I’ve forgotten “shojo” part :)
    Good thing I’m saved by Alice 19th -

  10. Angel Sanctuary and Akuma To Dolce (FOR THE LOVE OF MANGA, SOME ONE LICENSE IT IN ENGLISH!)

  11. davidpwelsh says:

    I’m always game for more baking manga, allaboutcomics.

  12. [...] is for Awesome: David Welsh asks his readers to name their favorite shoujo manga that start with the letter [...]

  13. Dryope says:

    Ohh, I must concur about Alice 19th and Angel Sanctuary.

    As for my own additions: Akazukin Chacha, Ayashi no Ceres (unless you’re using the translated version of the title), and Andante by Obana Miho. Oh, and I may be the only person ever to like this one, but Aya no Kyoushitsu by Hoshino Kana.

  14. Elizabeth says:

    A, A’ by Moto Hagio
    Aka Suika Ki Suika by Yumiko Ōshima (not yet licensed in USA)

    Someone please license any title from them.

  15. lys says:

    This is an awesome idea :D But now I’ve realized I don’t read many titles that begin with A! I guess I’ll go with Aishiteruze Baby and Akuma to Dolce too (with two Julietta Suzuki titles coming out, I’m sure that one’ll join soon enough) OH, how about “Ah! Itoshi no Banchou-sama,” coming soon from CMX as “My Darling! Miss Bancho.” I love that series and am super excited to see it released here. Aozora Yell, from the author of High School Debut, also seems promising.

    And can we just toss in all the “Alice” titles? Gakuen Alice, Alice in the Country of Hearts (not out yet, but it sounds interesting to me)…

    (okay, so I came up with a bunch of titles after all. and yet another reminder that I really need to read After School Nightmare one of these days!)

  16. Rij says:

    After School Nightmare!

    Then there’s an unlicensed little gem called Akaku Saku Koe by Midorikawa Yuki, the mangaka of Natsume Yuujinchou (Natsume’s Book of Friends, coming in English soon.)

    And I’m totally in love with Amatsuki, which might be more of a josei and isn’t licensed either. But it should be.

  17. Lorena says:

    Not necessarily shojo, but I love Antique Bakery. Oh, and The Antique Gift Shop, a manhwa, wasn’t too bad, either. For jumping into the middle of the series, I quite liked it and its episodic “be careful what you wish for” nature.

    Of course, I became a recent convert to the love that is Apothecarius Argentum — I’ll be loading up my lil’ ignored blog with reviews of it this weekend.

  18. Beatrice says:

    I know it’s more commonly known as Red River, but how about Anatolia Story?

  19. J S says:

    Haven’t seen these mentioned:
    Aria
    Aventura
    Antique Gift Shop

  20. Ahavah says:

    Apothecarius Argentum! It’s the only manga that I managed to hook a non-manga reading friend on. It seems so simple on the surface, like a fairy tale for children, but the author develops a rich, complex world as the story moves on.

  21. Ace wo Nerae, one of my favorite, one of the best of all times. ^_^ Antique Bakery deserves its place too. Anatolia Story (Red River), other of my favorites. Akuma to Love Song, Akuma no Eros, um… Atack Nº1, first sports shoujo manga.

  22. Safety says:

    On the Watase kick with Alice 19th, how about Appare Jipangu!? Cute and sweet, but I wonder if the setting is a license killer?

    A 2nd to someone licensing Akuma To Dolce and Akazukin Chacha.

    Some other unlicensed “A” gems: Obana Miho’s (Kodocha) one-shot Aruyōde Nai Otoko, and perhaps Kodansha will take a stab at the 4 Heian-era titles under the Abe no Seimei Koi Monogatari banner…

  23. Hmm… A,A’, as has already been mentioned (bring that darn book back into print, Viz, so I can buy a backup copy and gift copies for all my friends).

    Alichino is pretty as hell. Was the story any damn good? I don’t even remember. SO pretty.

    Alpine Rose is old and unlicensed and awesome. Comfy, somehow, in the way old-school shoujo can be.

    Is Ashita no Ousama shojo or josei? It rocks, either way. Girl falls in love with theatre, but rather than the acting (which she quickly realizes and accepts she has no knack for), she becomes deeply involved with the backstage stuff, writing and directing. Quite a change from most of the other theatre manga out there (all of which I eat up with a spoon).

  24. Margie Kairis says:

    Akuma to Love Song!!! So very original, deep but not melodramatic or tragic, it’s actually very heartwarming!

  25. usagijen says:

    Aka-chan to Boku! Such a heartwarming story.

    After School Nightmare, definitely. Allegro Agitato too, by the same author.

    Alexandrite, an underrated classic, could even be considered better than Cipher.

    I’d second Aria, but that doesn’t really count as shoujo, isn’t it?

  26. Heather says:

    Great idea and I second all the titles listed so far. I would like to add the one shot put out by CPM, Aquarium. I also think Andromedea Stories by Vertical and A Perfect day for Love Letters by Del Rey
    were each wonderful.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

