The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: B

“B” is for…

bananafish1
basara1
beautypop1
blacksunsilvermoon1
brideofthewatergod1

What are some of your favorite shôjo titles that start with the letter “B”?

19 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: B

  1. Oh, how I love “B”! :) I came over here specifically to see if Banana Fish and Basara made the cut. :D Also, I submit Boys Over Flowers. Trashy but incredibly addictive.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    “B” sure does have a lot in its favor, doesn’t it? I strongly suspect that “F” will crush all in its path, though.

  3. Danielle Leigh says:

    heh. I was just thinking, “Damn. Why aren’t we on ‘F’ already?”

    I submit “Bound Beauty,” published by Go! Comi (by the author of “Her Majesty’s Dog”). It is a guilty pleasure of mine and I admit I seem to be one of the few who really enjoys it. Right now it seems to be on hiatus while Go! Comi gets its publishing schedule worked out, which makes me sad.

  4. Rij says:

    Note to self: Check out Black Sun Silver Moon

    Banana Fish, Bride of the Water God and Bound Beauty would have made my list so there’s nothing left to add.

  5. badzphoto says:

    Beauty is the Beast.

  6. Connie says:

    Bride of Deimos. I miss it so much, it set my taste for shoujo after I read it.

    Bird Kiss, which has one of the most annoying main characters in history but wound up being a lot of fun in the end.

    And I’m inordinately fond of Backstage Prince, possibly because it’s the only Kabuki-themed manga I’ve read.

    But Basara and Banana Fish are two of my favorites contained in the same letter, and I just read both this year.

  7. Fai says:

    I concur with Banana Fish and Basara, but may I also add:

    Bara no Tame ni (Japanese name, deserves a liscense) is a great shojo. A mean, how often do you get a lead girl getting dumped, and homeless after her grandmother died, only to find out that her real mother is still alive and a famous actress, with three children all coming from different fathers? Add a couple of oddities to each, one lazy, one drunk, and one has feeling for his brother (incest!?). And the lead? Treated as a maid. Oh, and she’s chubby.

    Also, Beast Master is quite cute. I’m 99% sure Viz has licensed this as well. Also, it’s nice to see a male writing shoujo, I have to say.

    Boys Next Door (another unlicensed – sigh). One of my more favourite out of Kaori Yuki’s works.

    Also: Boyfriend (SOURYO Fuyumi) (ANOTHER unlicensed work) but this is Souryo we’re talking about, so of course you know it’s excellent.

  8. In addition to the notables on the list, I’d add Beauty is the Beast and Boys Over Flowers.

    Fai, the first volume of Beast Master is due out from VIZ in about two weeks! :)

  9. [...] Welsh gets to B in the manga/manhwa alphabet and asks his readers to suggest their [...]

  10. Linh says:

    I agree with Beauty is the Beast

  11. gia says:

    Bring It On! is a pretty cute romantic comedy manhwa.

  12. Safety says:

    Backstage Prince and Black Bird – same mangaka, very different – one is a sweet romance in the kabuki world; the other is a bodice-ripper in the grand old tradition of the term.

    And as a Shinsengumi fangirl, I humbly submit Bakumatsu Roman Ibun, and older, out-of-print tale of a love triangle (girl x Okita x Saitou); and the otome game-based Bakumatsu Renka Shinsengumi, which I wish had been better. :( And the supernatural-themed Shinsengumi manga Burai, where they all have awesome metal hair.

    Looking very forward to Butterflies, Flowers.

  13. [...] David Welsh is working his way through the alphabet asking for your favorite shojo titles.  He’s up to B. [...]

  14. Victoria says:

    Blame, Banana Fish and Battle Angel Alita

  15. Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon, of course. :-)

    Banana Fish is definitely awesome. Still need to read the others on this list…

  16. Margie Kairis says:

    Boys over Flowers!

  17. Heather says:

    Baby and Me, an awesome title Viz releases.

  18. Shelly says:

    FYI: I was going back through the alphabet and for some reason this post, along with the “E” and “N” posts don’t come up when the tag is used to retrieve them all.

    Thanks for doing this! Shoujo doesn’t get enough love, and you’ve listed a lot of titles even a long-time fan like me hasn’t heard of and wants to try.

  19. davidpwelsh says:

    That’s weird! They’re both categorized properly, but they just aren’t showing up. (Of course, there’s no actual shojo in “E,” but I can’t imagine the program knows that.)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

