The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: C

“C” is for…

canon1

cantarella1

cardcaptorsakura1

ceres1

clovercover

crimsonhero1

crown1

I have to say that “C” is a pretty impressive letter. Lots of variety here. What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “C”?

17 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: C

  1. Julia L says:

    Crimson Hero is definitely my favorite, although I like it more for the depiction of volleyball and team interaction than I do for the typical shojo romance aspect. I was really surprised, too. It wasn’t the title I expected to love in Shojo Beat.

  2. Lorena says:

    Sadly, the only “C” shojo manga/sunjeong title I’ve read is Crimson Hero, but it is a very good read. Looks like you’re list has given me some new titles to check out!

  3. Connie says:

    I love these lists, they’re so fun. And ooh, I didn’t realize C was such a busy letter. I would have forgotten about Crimson Hero, I’ve only read one random volume, but what a great series.

    Click, Confidential Confessions, Cipher, Crossroads, and Chicago are other pretty good ones I can think of, but that would make the list forever long.

  4. Ephidel says:

    I have fond memories of CLAMP School Detectives, but I wouldn’t say it was a favourite series.
    Glad to see that one of my favourites (Clover) did make the list though and a number of others I like are already there or have been suggested by Connie :P
    It was never one of the best, but I remember enjoying CLAMP School Detectives as well.

    In terms of additions, Manhwa wise, I would love to put forward Ciel. I think its still ongoing, and I only ever read the first two volumes in german a couple of years ago, but I really enjoyed it, and the art was great to boot. At some point I remember it being rumoured that there was an english license for it, but I’ve never seen nor heard anything about it since. I’d really quite like to.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    Ephidel, there are a couple of volumes of a Tokyopop translation of Ciel on Amazon, but I can’t find anything on Tokyopop’s web site. The creator’s President Dad still seems to be in print.

  6. I like Crimson Hero a lot, too. It isn’t licensed, but I’d also vote for Cat Street, by Yoko Kamio, creator of Boys Over Flowers.

  7. JRBrown says:

    I’m currently reading Crown, in part because of prior mentions on this site, and I’ve gotta say, that thing is made of crazy-coated crazy. If it was any more over the top, I’d have to have my ceilings raised.

  8. I’d like to nominate Ha Si-Hyun’s Comic. Even though I keep complaining about it for having abandoned it’s original premise, I admit it’s got me hooked.

  9. [...] lists her favorite supernatural shoujo manga at Heart of Manga. And David Welsh is up to the letter C in his shojo-sunjeong [...]

  10. Ephidel says:

    Most of the tokyopop volumes of Ciel on amazon are actually the german translation.
    I can only find one listed as english (the November 2008 one with no picture, and a “Sign up to be notified when this item becomes available” type message), and I’d assumed it was a remnant date for a ‘never actually published’ book (as with books that aren’t released on amazons dates, dates that are reschduled, or most of dramaqueens catalogue :P)
    I could be wrong though, as the Mangacast 2008 cancellation list does seem to have a volume one listed. Gah, thats annoying if I missed it, even if they didn’t get very far :(

  11. lys says:

    Ooh, Cipher is a good one, Connie! More people need to read it. And Crossroads—I just started reading that and was rather surprised at how much I liked it. I’m a fan of Crown (also thanks to mentions on this and other sites) and Crimson Hero, too!

  12. badzphoto says:

    Chizumi & Fujiomi by Hikawa Kyoko

  13. Beatrice says:

    How about Chibi Vampire? Admitedly, I never did get around to reading past volume one, but I certainly enjoyed the humor of the series.

  14. Rin says:

    Love Clamp’s Clover and Cardcaptor Sakura

  15. Margie Kairis says:

    I second Cat Street!! a shoujo like no other!

  16. Heather says:

    Great list, and I would add the one shot, Call me Princess put out by CPM, oh so long ago.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

