The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: M

“M” is for…

And I’ve seen this categorized as yaoi, boys’ love, and josei, but… whatever. It’s beautiful.

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “M”?

14 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: M

  1. I’ll only add Monkey High, a title I enjoyed much, much more than I ever expected.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I’m sad to admit that I haven’t sampled Monkey High yet, but it’s on deck… somewhere.

  3. Rij says:

    Magic Knight Rayearth

    Nothing else to add.

  4. Rebecca says:

    I find Maid-Sama! surprisingly entertaining so it would have made my list.

  5. lys says:

    There are a lot of M’s!!

    Magic Touch! A series everyone seems to hate, but I absolutely love…

    Mixed Vegetables, which I’m willing to admit is a little mediocre. But I still like it a lot.

    My Darling! Miss Bancho, which isn’t out yet, but will be excellent for sure.

    Me & My Brothers, an incredibly adorably sweet shoujo about a girl and her family. I really think more people should read/know about this; maybe it gets overlooked because it started coming out a while back when Tokyopop had a million other titles to distract readers with?

    Maid Sama! is pretty fun too. I expect it will go far, with its shoujo prettiness and its maids.

    Minima! was pretty cute. I wish DelRey was still licensing more shoujo like this.

    And for completion, MetamoKiss. It kinda bored me, but I read it, so.

    Oh, and I haven’t read this one, but Million Tears by Yuana Kazumi. I’m thinking of checking it out, since another of her series is coming out from Tokyopop in a couple months.

  6. badzphoto says:

    There are many M-series I like that have been mentioned here. I’d add March on Earth and Millennium Prime Minister (this is pure fluff :))

  7. JRBrown says:

    If we’re including yaoi, the egregiously out of print Man’s Best Friend.

  8. JRBrown says:

    I don’t tweet, so I’m sticking this in here, relevant or not: more F&$!ng Setona Mizushiro. Kuro Bara Alice (Black Rose Alice) has hot vampires in it, and we all know how that goes down with the readers. Also, really, really good yaoi that needs more exposure (The Cornered Mouse Dreams of Cheese/The Carp Jumps Twice On The Cutting Board is the second-best yaoi series ever, after The Tyrant Falls In Love).

  9. Safety says:

    2nd for March on Earth, it’s sweet and a quick read at 2 volumes

    Merupuri was cute, but not really memorable. Magical necklaces or something?

    I loved More Starlight to Your Heart, even if ADV didn’t license the first series and it was very, very fluffy, but I love historical settings. Too bad it probably sold, like, 10 copies so I’d never see a license rescue.

    Miyuki-Chan in Wonderland – is this shojo? Does it fall under any category?

    Unlicensed – Mint de Kiss Me, a Yuu Watase collection

  10. Heather says:

    Mars and Marmalade Boy are my favorites, but I would also add the mahou shoujo title, Miracle Girls, put out by Tokyopop.

  11. Rin says:

    I quite enjoyed millennium snow and my heavenly hockey club!

  12. Connie says:

    Marmalade Boy! I had almost forgotten about that series, which is a real shame. I need to dig it back out and give it another read.

    Maid-sama and Magic Knight Rayearth have already been mentioned, as has Metamo Kiss, which was mediocre, but cute enough. Same with Masca, which wasn’t great but still pretty.

  13. the moon in autumn says:

    Magical X Miracle was cute (despite its squandered ending). Was Model (a Korean title released by Tokyopop) shojo?

  14. Thirding Magic Knights Rayearth. DUDE. How could you miss that one? CLAMP doing what it does best, namely taking what somebody ELSE did well and doing it even better. All the cool-pretty elemental magical world saving of Sailor Moon without the whiny heroine. And the ending of the first trilogy kicked me in the teeth as a kid. I think that might have been my first brush with tragedy, certainly in comic form.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

