The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: O

“O” is for…

And while it’s not yet licensed or, technically speaking, shôjo…

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “O”?

Update: This was a part of the mental list I was making before I made an actual list and started gathering images and stuff, but an important brain cell must have died between then and now. Omission rectified.

8 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: O

  1. Lissa says:

    Otomen immediately comes to mind for the letter O, with your inclusions of One Thousand and One Nights and Ooku not far behind.

  2. Oh, this really does lift my spirits a bit, especially seeing One Thousand and One Nights up there, and Ooku, of course. I’d only add Otomen and Off*Beat! I’m not sure if Off*Beat counts, but I have to put in a plug. :D

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    Ack, I absolutely meant to include Off*Beat, and I have rectified that stupid, stupid omission on my part. Thanks, Melinda!

    And the omission of Otomen was intentional. It just doesn’t click for me. Sorry, Melinda and Lissa.

  4. I recalled, I thought, that you didn’t care for Otomen, so I didn’t necessarily expect it to show up on your list. :) Yay for Off*Beat, though!

  5. Shelly says:

    I like Operation Liberate Men by Mi Ra Lee too, a manhwa over at Netcomics. It’s an oldschool cute girly version of an Ooku, aimed at a younger audience, with long-haired ethereal heroes. The heroine is a tomboy who is mistaken for a guy.

    It’s unfinished and has been stalled for a while, but Netcomics said the author does intend to finish it. Netcomics online version has almost reached the end of what’s available.

  6. lys says:

    Aw, the image of Oyayubihime Infinity doesn’t have the title on the cover? I know CMX sometimes has weird versions of their cover on amazon, etc. I think their own website should have the proper version though…

    Also, Oh! My Brother—CMX is doing its part to fill in the Os! And there’s the josei Over the Rainbow by Keiko Honda, released once upon a time by CPM. The ending was a little strange, but it was interesting as something different from my usual reading.

  7. […] Today’s edition of the Shoujo-Sunjeong Alphabet is brought to you by the letter O. […]

  8. the moon in autumn says:

    Does Oath to Love and Passion count? I’m not sure it’s shojo, but it’s certainly wicked/fun relationship comedy. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

