The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: P

“P” is for…

Since hope springs eternal, I’ll include these two, and maybe someday we can look back at this post and say, “Remember those dark days when these books weren’t available in English?”

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “P”?

12 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: P

  1. Johanna says:

    What are the two in Japanese? One is Princess Knight, I’m guessing.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Yup, and the other is The Poe Clan, classic vampire manga by Moto Hagio.

  3. badzphoto says:

    Great list. I also enjoy Platinum Garden.

  4. Cool list! I also enjoyed reading “Phantom Dream”.

  5. Eva says:

    Ah, Paradise Kiss. All the best things about Nana squeezed into five perfect volumes.

  6. […] shoujo-sunjeong alphabet reaches the letter P at Manga […]

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Poe Clan, definitely.

  8. lys says:

    A Perfect Day for Love Letters, by George Asakura and published by Del Rey way back when. I loved it.

    Papillon and Peach Girl didn’t get mentioned. I lost interest in one and never actually read the other…

  9. davidpwelsh says:

    Peach Girl is up there. Papillon isn’t, because I don’t like it very much.

  10. Connie says:

    All sorts of good stuff for P! Paradise Kiss and Peach Girl take me back to my college days, hanging out and stalking the bookstore waiting for new volumes of those to show up. I was very much in love with those two.

  11. lys says:

    Oh, you’re right! Sorry I missed it. And I’m not bothered by your not including Papillon, since I feel about the same. But I had to mention it for completeness’ sake.

  12. Ahavah says:

    Moto Hagio has a classic vampire manga that hasn’t been released in English yet?! The shame! Should we start badgering the good men and women at CMX and Vertical to get it out between the released of the next Twilight-related media and volume of Vampire Knight? I mean, Vampires are so in right now. Let’s show the tweenyboppers how it used to be done!

    As for Princess Knight, I’m still waiting for an announcement…Viz? Vertical? Anyone?

    I’m trying to think of another title that begins with P but I’m going blank at the moment. Great List!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

