Sharing the wealth

Just as a random thought exercise, and working on the assumption that the number of slots and that all other Eisner Award nominations remain the same, would your dream slate for Best U.S. Edition of International Material — Asia look the same? I think I’d be inclined to spread the nods around a little more and add some other titles to the hopper:

I hasten to note that I don’t think any of the actual nominees are unworthy, because no sane person could say that about Taniguchi, Tatsumi, or Urasawa. (Okay, I will say that the Color trilogy is unworthy, though I would certainly agree with a nod for Kim Dong Hwa in the Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team category.) But it wouldn’t be awards season if you didn’t spend at least a little time second-guessing the judges. It’s part of the fun, right?

7 Responses to Sharing the wealth

  1. [...] nominations for Best Publication for Teens never includes any manga, and he also comes up with his own slate for the Best U.S. Edition of International Material — Asia [...]

  2. [...] | More commentary on this year's Eisner nominees from David Welsh, Chris Allen and Alan David Doane, and David Harper and Walter Richardson. [2010 Eisner [...]

  3. Heather says:

    I would second your additional choices, each was very enjoyable. It’s difficult to nominate others since most manga volumes only cover a small slice of the story, but I would add Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service, Black Jack and Kimi ni Todoke. The last two started in 2009 with a bang and KCDS kept up the quality.

    I personally was very happy to see the Color Trilogy nominated. I have not read the last volume, but I found the first two delightfull and reminded me alot of Judy Blume novels of those awkward years.

  4. [...] the recognized manga titles and, being unable to resist the temptation, offers a few more he might have included. Already causing chatter is the Best Publication for Teens category featuring titles many have not [...]

  5. [...] of all, I think any of the titles listed here would be fine nominees. Here are a few [...]

  6. [...] I think Urasawa’s Pluto will claim the Best U.S. Edition of International Material – Asia prize, and voters in a poll that I ran agree. They also think it should win, though I disagree. It’s a very strong series, but I found it a little overly serious on the whole. But it’s a lot like Watchmen in its dramatic, revisionist take on a property for children, and those are apparently very hard for people to resist. Of the remaining nominees, I’d rather see Oishinbo a la Carte (Viz), written by Tetsu Kariya and illustrated by Akira Hanasaki, win, because it would boost sales for the existing volumes of this fascinating series and increase the possibility that we might see more. I don’t think it stands much of a chance, as it cherry picks stories from the series’ very long run rather than offering a contained narrative. There’s an okay chance that Tatsumi’s A Drifting Life might take this prize, but I still think Eisner voters have been looking for a chance to honor Urasawa for a while now. I hope to heaven that The Color Trilogy (First Second) doesn’t win, but the last time I mentioned my dislike of that series, I was subjected to condescending psychoanalysis, so I’ll just move on. If you’d like to see my dream Eisner ballot in this category, click here. [...]

  7. judi(togainunochi) says:

    If I’d been able to nominate, my choice for any category that it would fit, is REAL. This is the very first manga, that I could not wait for a volume to arrive. I bought all 8(what’s published now) in two orders, because after reading volume 1, I could not wait. Right now I am dying for 9.
    Every volume made me laugh, cry, cheer, be frustrated, and more. The emotions never stopped rolling out. REAL, to me, is my definition of art. It pulls you in, then inundates you with it’s reality. It changes your perspective on life, and so much more.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

