All things eventually considered

June 16, 2010

I really enjoy reading NPR’s Monkey See blog, particularly Glen Weldon’s occasional musings on comics and graphic novels. I do find myself wishing he’d write more about manga, and while there’s a little “Be careful what you wish for…” in the mix, I think he offers a very readable overview of the current State of Things:

“The next time I came into work, I saw that he hadn’t given the books more prominent placement or allotted them any extra shelf space. Instead, he’d simply slapped a fancy embossed shelftag under them, reading:

“MAGNA [sic]: COMICS FOR GIRLS AND LADIES!!!!”

For bonus points, the blog is run by Linda Holmes, who wrote for Television Without Pity back when it was really, really good.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers