Previews review July 2010

The July 2010 Previews catalog is out. Here are a few highlights:

I don’t really understand the concept of Hidekaz Himaruya’s Hetalia Axis Powers (Tokyopop), but it’s generated a lot of excitement, so I’ll just copy the solicitation text:

“Germany is the bully, Italy is the pest, and Japan is the exotic new friend from the East! When this bad boy club clashes with the hamburger-loving America and stodgy old Great Britain, it’s all-out war – WWII, that is – portrayed in hysterical, politically incorrect 4-panel comic strips!”

Oh, manga. (Page 328.)

Speaking of titles that triggered joy when their licensing was announced, there’s Mitsuru Adachi’s Cross Game (Viz). Sports manga (baseball, in this case) doesn’t do spectacularly well over here, but there’s a lot of fondness directed at this particular work. (Page 338.)

I loved the first volume of Yumi Unita’s Bunny Drop (Yen Press) so much that I reserve the right to mention every time a new volume is due to arrive, mostly because it doesn’t seem like on the fast-track release system. Anyway, the second volume is listed here, so pre-order it and make it the huge hit it deserves to be. (Page 344.)

9 Responses to Previews review July 2010

  1. judi(togainunochi) says:

    I’m with you, I don’t see the Hetalia hysterics, but Cross Game and Bunny Drop, now that’s what I am looking forward to. I’ wish sport manga did better, because it’s just about my favorite genre.

  2. DerikB says:

    I’m excited about Cross Game. I’ve read some Adachi in scanlation and was waiting for someone to try publishing some baseball manga. It could do well if they can actually get it to an audience that would care (ie people who like baseball).

    Though, having read the first chapters at ShonenSunday, it is confusing to see that all Adachi’s characters across series seem to look exactly the same.

  3. DanielBT says:

    One other Manga title I ordered solely on the cover art alone (and which no other comic site seems to has mentioned) is The 14th Dalai Lama: A Manga Biography.

    Was on page 308 of the latest Previews.

    It’s not very often I blindly request something, but I was quite impressed with the artwork on the cover. It kind of reminds me of The Secret of Kells movie. Hopefully, the interior will be as compelling as the exterior.

  4. [...] Psychic Academy so upset her son that he had a nervous breakdown… and David Welsh reviews the July Previews, teasing out the good stuff from the dreck. Reader DanielBT contributes an interesting [...]

  5. That’s really interesting, DanielBT! I might have to grab that one, myself.

  6. Johanna says:

    Ed Sizemore reviewed that Dalai Lama bio here: http://comicsworthreading.com/2009/01/09/biographic-novel-the-14th-dalai-lama/
    in case you’d like to know more.

  7. DanielBT says:

    Johanna,

    Rats, I didn’t know it was a reprint rather than a new book. Now that I remember the review, I’m feeling less enthusiastic for the bio than I would’ve been. The other cover there was too busy (with various photos of the Dalai Lama himself) compared with the new printing.

  8. Johanna says:

    Yeah, the new cover is definitely an improvement. I wasn’t sure about match, either, until I checked the author.

  9. [...] David Welsh takes a look at the manga in the latest Previews. [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

