All are welcome

Over at Robot 6, J.K. Parkin lists “Six announcements [they'd] love to hear in San Diego this week.” I can’t pass up a chance to mention some of my most-wished-for manga.

Princess Knight, written and illustrated by Osamu Tezuka. Is there anyone who doesn’t want to see this book published in English?

Jirilove, written and illustrated by Utaguwa: I’ve read some really good Japanese comics about or featuring gay characters, but I don’t think I’ve ever read one by a gay person about being gay. Updated: Wait, I have read a comic like that: Rica ‘tte Kanji!? written and illustrated by Rica Takashima. It’s wonderful. You should go read it right now.

Speaking of good comics about gay people, I’d love to read some of Natsume Ono’s yaoi work, created under the name “Basso.”

Nasu, written and illustrated by Iou Kuroda: Isn’t it well past time we got more comics by Kuroda in translation?

Vinland Saga, written and illustrated by Makoto Yukimura: I could ask the same question about the creator who gave us Planetes.

What Did You Eat Yesterday? written and illustrated by Fumi Yoshinaga: It’s Yoshinaga manga about gay foodies. Do I need to expound any further?

What books are on your wish list?

Update: Erica Friedman crafts a yuri-centric list over at Okazu.

16 Responses to All are welcome

  1. The lack of Vinland Saga in English is truly puzzling to me.

  2. Erica says:

    I’m stealing this meme for today’s Okazu. It’s a must-do.

  3. JRB says:

    Massively unlikely, but I’m holding a torch for Moto Hagio’s A Cruel God Reigns. It’s 17 volumes of full-on operatic melodrama in which there are shocking revelations! and unbearable torment! on every page, but it’s a complete page-turner, there’s awesomely surreal symbolic art, and an angsty yaoi-romance subplot with a happy ending. And it’s Moto freaking Hagio. ‘Nuff said.

    • davidpwelsh says:

      I’m game for anything Hagio ever did, to be honest. I hope Drunken Dream sells really well and there’s a surge of demand for the works of Hagio and her Year 24 cohorts.

      • LillianDP says:

        Cruel God is only 10 volumes in the bind-up edition! And it is truly awesome. I bought 1 & 2 on a whim, and then basically went back to Kinokuniya the next day to buy the rest. I think it was in the Comics Journal interview where she talked about how Cruel God was kind of her re-envisioning of Heart of Thomas later in life.

        And it’s partially set in Boston, my hometown, which I thought was fascinating. If I get a chance to ask her a question at SDCC it’ll be what prompted her to choose that setting.

  4. Rij says:

    I have some hopes for somebody someday licensing more from Setona Mizushiro, especially Kurobara Alice.

    In the “when pigs fly” -category:

    Amatsuki by Shinobu Takayama
    Ookiku Furikabutte by Asa Higuchi
    Gokusen by Kozueko Morimoto

  5. I’m with you regarding Princess Knight and What Did You Eat Yesterday?. I hope someone licenses 7SEEDS, by Yumi Tamura—I wish this were a pub Vertical could pull from, ‘cos they’d do a great job with it—or something else by Saika Kunieda (of Future Lovers).

    • davidpwelsh says:

      I keep meaning to do a license request post about Kunieda, since Future Lovers is one of my favorite comics of all time. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. [...] anime and manga fan’s guide to the weekend’s events. Meanwhile, Erica Friedman and David Welsh fantasize about manga licenses they would like to see (but probably won’t) at [...]

  7. DanielBT says:

    Count me in for anything Hagio-related. I’m looking forward to reading A Drunken Dream when it comes out. I wouldn’t mind seeing the Shojo classic The Glass Mask available anytime soon, if the official version was as good as the scanlation. Every day, I check the latest Manga licenses to see if any 70′s Shojos have been snatched up yet.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Every time I see one of these I hope Kiichi! or The World is Mine will appear.

    But they belong in a “Wish List of Manga I’d Like to See in a Wish List but Probably Won’t” rather than a “Wish List of Manga I’d Like to See Licensed but Probably Won’t.”

    ;_;

  9. [...] news so far They may not have been on my wish list, but Comic Con International has already yielded two really interesting-sounding licenses, so [...]

  10. [...] Six started it, with Six by 6. Then David Welsh continued it with his wish list of Comic-Con licensing announcements. I knew I had to steal this meme immediately. I couldn't pass up the chance. But…. I'm very [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

