Let us read cake

Owing to the fact that I know next to nothing about this week’s requested property, I’ll take you on a little tour through the process of determining what books I randomly decide I want.

Sometimes, I’ll start with a demographic. For instance, today I decided I might be in the mood for some josei.

Then I remember that there were some titles that sounded interesting in Shueisha’s YOU.

Then I see the word “patisserie” in one of the titles, and all is settled, especially after watching the debut of Top Chef: Just Desserts.

So, yes, I would like for someone to publish Kira’s ten-volume Patisserie Mon, basically only because it’s josei and features cake. I don’t really need any more substantial argument than that, do I?

I will add that the preview pages (some for each volume can be accessed here) look really cute. Is it possibly an Antique Bakery knockoff? I guess it could be. Should there be more Antique Bakery knockoffs in the world? Yes, there absolutely should.

Kira has also completed a 26-volume series told from the perspective of a dog and is currently working on a series that looks to be about competitive swimming.

And that is how this license request was born.

7 Responses to Let us read cake

  1. judi(togainunochi) says:

    Anything like Antique Bakery is a plus. There can never be enough sport or food manga, IMO

  2. I would totally read/buy this and the one from the dog’s POV! And I agree, those covers are awesome!

  3. [...] josei pastry manga? That’s all David Welsh needs to know to request that Patisserie Mon be [...]

  4. lys says:

    Cute!! The covers are fun—all different variations on the uniform (volume 10 was a patissiere-wedding dress! I laughed). And just seeing the word cake made me really hungry. Oishii Kankei is another really nice josei food and cooking manga (though not quite as dessert-focused). The art style is probably a little dated for some readers, but maybe that’s not as much of an issue since readers who want josei are more likely to be happy with whatever they can get?

    I liked the insight into your decision-making process! Now to find something vaguely resembling cake in the kitchen…

  5. Caddy C says:

    Cake, a dog, and competitive swimming? Sign me up to read this author! Or at the very least check out her stuff should the license request ever come to fruition!

  6. thirstygirl says:

    Those covers are fantastic- I’d buy the series if the english license used those covers. Think how gorgeous they’d look all lined up on a bookshelf. And cake- how could it go wrong?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

