Link of the day

My biggest disappointment in not being able to attend this year’s New York Comic-Con/Anime Festival came from the fact that I wouldn’t be able to attend the panel, “Gay for You? Yuri and Yaoi for GLBTQ Readers.” Thankfully, Deb (About.Com) Aoki has posted a transcript of the panel along with a list of recommended yaoi and yuri titles for that audience.

And just because I can’t read one of these lists without adding at least two cents worth of unsolicited input, I will suggest the addition of Only the Ring Finger Knows (DMP), written by Satoru Kannagi and illustrated by Hotaru Odagiri, especially for younger readers.

20 Responses to Link of the day

  1. JRB says:

    And in completely different BL news, here’s a podcast interview with a couple of BL scholars, Mark McHarry and Hope Donovan (the link on the site does not seem to work, so here’s a direct link to the MP3); at about 20 minutes in they talk briefly about gay readers in Japan and in the US. Mark repeats something I’ve heard from several academics, that a significant number of Japanese gay men read at least some BL, contra Chris’ response to an audience question at the panel. Perhaps they’ve been talking to different slices of the gay community?

    • davidpwelsh says:

      That seems most likely to me. Thanks for the links to the podcast! I’m looking forward to listening to it.

      • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

        Great stuff.

        I admit, it’s always kinda bugged me how much it’s emphasized that BL *isn’t* for gay readers, and “probably doesn’t even appeal” to gay men, etc. It depends on the situation, but I guess I’ve always taken it a bit personally. Particularly as a teen, that whole aspect (and how it’s present in shoujo in general) is what appealed to me. Now I admit that I don’t read a lot of yaoi because I do find it unappealing and unbelieveable (though I do enjoy some of the better, unbelieveable titles). But, I dunno… Sometimes it almost seems like an aspect that’s emphasized TOO much. I get that BL isn’t primarily written with gay men in mind whatsoever, but I’ve honestly even felt a sense of resentment from some yaoi groups towards gay male fans… A sense of entitlement–this is “theirs” and not for any man.

        Oh and would someone please just translate and release Marimo Ragawa’s absolutely superb New York New York, already (which is an example of a classic yaoi title that I think DOES address and connect with a lot of gay men). I know it’s been scanlated by a bunch of groups over the years, but…

      • kireipan says:

        @Eric – I listened to that interview also and was actually surprised by that point you picked up on about hostility within the female fandom towards the gay readership. I’m a member of the Aarinfantasy forum which is a pretty big community of yaoi fans, a significant percentage of which is made up of gay males. As far as I recall I don’t remember any instances of discord between the guys and the girls; everyone gets on fine. The guys are definitely outnumbered by the girls but that doesn’t seem to faze the guys since many of them are very vocal and active.

        Admittedly I haven’t ventured much outside of this one forum but I guess that’s a good thing since I’ve been lucky enough not to encounter this negative attitude that you’ve come across.

      • davidpwelsh says:

        I’ve seen some very contentious exchanges between women and gay male yaoi fans, with charges of appropriation flying in both directions. I haven’t seen one of those dust-ups in a while, though.

      • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

        I have to admit I’ve stayed away from any strictly yaoi fangroups, of any sort, for a number of years now… That’s good to know.

  2. kireipan says:

    I was also surprised not to see OTRFK on at least the fan-suggested list in Deb’s article. When I first discovered yaoi a few years ago it was one of the titles most often recommended to me as a must-read and one of the most well-known titles around. I wonder if it’s too old or has fallen out of favour with the current batch of readers?

    • davidpwelsh says:

      Oh, I hope not. It’s so sweet and such a nice, character-driven book. It really feels like a high-school romance to me that just happens to be about two guys.

      • kireipan says:

        I just had a quick nose around and it looks like it’s out of stock, out of print (unless you don’t mind paying absurd amounts of money for a volume) and not on emanga, which makes it rather hard for a book to sustain its popularity if it’s out of circulation. Do DMP ever reprint? Do any of the American yaoi publishers ever do reprints? I never did manage to get my hands on a set of the doomed Embracing Love series…

      • davidpwelsh says:

        Ah, that would explain it! I remember someone from the panel that they wanted to confine their recommendations to things that are readily available, which is also why the most charming yuri manga ever, Rica ‘tte Kanji, didn’t make the list.

        Not sure what the general trend is on yaoi/BL publishers keeping stuff in print. I’m sure it varies based on demand, license agreements, etc.

  3. Robin B. says:

    Just to chime in on OTRFK, kireipan got it in one. We decided not to include titles that were out of print or generally unavailable, and OTRFK fell into that category. More’s the pity.

    Our own copy (here in my library) went out 39 times before it was, ahem, lost in 2008. Geez, I’m going to have to donate my own copy, aren’t I? The things I do for my library readers. The light novel continuations of the story also remain the top circulators in my romance paperback section in the Teen Room.

    I wonder if we can start a campaign with DMP to reprint it?

    And you know, of course, David if you were there, you would have been ON the panel. :D

  4. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    Amazon.ca has several copies in stock of the first two volumes of the novel… and then the following two seem to go for a lot.

    • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

      And I now realize you mean the subsequent manga, not the originakl novels… I actually have a copy and have yet to read it (for shame) but amazonca does have some used copies for cheap, of that too, for anyone looking.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

