Upcoming 10/27/2010

It’s time for another look at the week’s ComicList!

Tokyopop has a bunch of titles coming out, and my pick of that lot would be the tenth volume of Banri Hidaka’s V.B. Rose, a romantic comedy about a budding designer of accessories working in a high-end bridal shop.

Random House’s Del Rey manga imprint may be on its last legs, but it’s releasing a healthy volume of titles all the same. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the first volume of Akimine Kamijo’s Code Breaker, so I’ll be looking for the second.

I’ve also been surprised by how much I’ve been enjoying Marvel’s Secret Avengers series, so I’ll also grab a copy of the sixth issue, which features a visit from the Master of Kung Fu.

I have no excuse for not yet sampling Beasts of Burden from Dark Horse, and perhaps the Beasts of Burden/Hellboy One-Shot isn’t the best introduction to the series, but I think I’ll grab it all the same, just because I know my comic shop will probably have a copy handy.

What looks good to you?

7 Responses to Upcoming 10/27/2010

  1. Aaron says:

    As far as stuff that’s comeing out or just recently released the titles that caught my attention where Arisa, Cross Game, and Dragon Girl Omnibus 1. Their was even a Light novel that Kuriosty reviewed that sounded interesting.

  2. Jade Harris says:

    So what’s the skinny on Secret Avengers anyhow? Is it good in a Jim Shooter/Kurt Busiek Avengers sort of way or good in a Brian Michael Bendis messes everything up for the sake of a cheap plot because he’s a complete hack that is at least halfway responsible for killing my love of superheroes sort of way?

    • davidpwelsh says:

      It’s actually good in a third way which may or may not be good by your Avengers standards (though I totally track with your definitions of Avengers good, and Geoff Johns is responsible for killing the other half of my superheroes love). Anyway, I would say it’s good in a Bob Harras kind of way, which many people wouldn’t take as a compliment, but I found that he could take characters who didn’t intuitively seem like likely Avengers and make them work in that strangely Avengers way.

      It’s also good in that “sturdy Ed Brubaker” way that involves writing heroes as sort of competent but still interesting people, which I always like.

      Was that helpful?

      • Jade Harris says:

        Ah, ok, I’d have to actually read it to be able to tell exactly how helpful that is, but I understand what you’re getting at. I don’t remember either being real powerhouses in the plot department, but now that you mention it, they did always have a solid grasp of characters.

      • davidpwelsh says:

        I should also confess that I might be blinded by the fact that it’s got both the Black Widow and Valkyrie on the team, which pushes all kinds of giddy ’70s fanboy buttons for me but may not do anything for anyone else.

  3. [...] David Welsh and Brad Rice check out this week’s new manga. [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

