Upcoming 11/10/2010

It’s one of those neat ComicList weeks where all kinds of interesting comics from throughout the space-time continuum are due to land.

Sean (A Case Suitable for Treatment) Gaffney tweeted about this book, and it has a definite allure for me as a person who read a lot of Archie comics in the back seat of the station wagon on long drives to various vacation destinations during his childhood. It’s Dark Horse’s Archie Firsts collection, which promises “first issues, first appearances, and other milestones, collected for the first time in one hardcover volume!”

I was a huge fan of Scott Chantler’s Northwest Passage (Oni Press), so it would stand to reason that I should pick up a copy of his Two Generals (McClelland and Stewart), which promises “poignant graphic memoir that tells the story of World War II from an Everyman’s perspective.” I’m not a history buff, per se, but Chantler is phenomenally talented.

The first volume of Lars Martinson’s Tōnoharu (Top Shelf) was very intriguing, so I’m looking forward to Martinson’s second look at a fish out of water teaching English in rural Japan.

Erica (Okazu) Friedman is crazy about Hayate X Blade (Seven Seas), written and illustrated by Shizuru Hayashiya, and that’s reason enough to seriously consider the purchase of the first omnibus collection of the series.

And I am crazy about Kou Yaginuma’s Twin Spica (Vertical), and I would never consider delaying in the purchase of the fourth volume. This is easily one of the great series debuts of 2010.

What looks good to you?

7 Responses to Upcoming 11/10/2010

  1. DerikB says:

    New Vagabond VizBiz volume! My current favorite manga series.

  2. Eric Henwood-Greer says:

    I have to admit, that Archie vol would be hard for me to pass up if I saw it on the store… I also grew up with Archie comics–when I was 7 I actually ahd to convince my parents to let me save and spend something like $30 bucks of my allowance on Archie’s Pal, Jughead, number 7, and I remember being thrilled as a young teen when they came out withe Archie’s Americana Anniversary series with “best ofs” collected by decade… Hrmm

    Definitely will get the new Twin Spica.

    • davidpwelsh says:

      I’ve read so few of the older Archie stories, though I’ve always loved the pages of them that I’ve seen.

      • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

        The really early ones are only really fun for nostalgic purposes–and to see how much of the humour comes off as kinda cruel by more recent Archie standards, but I think by the 50s there’s some fun to be had, and not just cuz of the dated aspects… (I see on Amazon that IDW has also released some volumes this year collecting fave stories by famous Archie creators like Dan DeCarlo–in all honesty those might be a more interesting buy…)

  3. Johanna says:

    There’s a new Americana this week, too, Best of the 80s Book 2.

    • Eric Henwood-Greer says:

      I only bought the first two vols, back I guess in 1995 looking at when they were published. I was kinda surprised that they continued to come out regularly, but awfully slowly… They’re just cheap paperbacks, but for the price they go for on Amazon marketplace I’d be tempted to pick up a few more–at least if caught with my credit card in the right frame of mind (usually a dangerous prospect).

  4. [...] Dacey, Brad Rice, and David Welsh all look over this week’s new releases and pick the ones they like the best. Melinda [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

