MMF: Wanted: WANTED!

You’d think a manga-ka as successful as Eiichiro Oda would have more of a back catalog of works that predate his mega-hit, One Piece, but, as near as I can determine, his only other book is a collection of short stories called WANTED!, originally published by Shueisha. I’m a big fan of collections of shorter works by manga-ka who are best known for their longer-form work, so I feel fairly comfortable asking someone (Viz) to publish this retroactively introductory tome.

The stories included and their years of publication are as follows:

  • Wanted! (1992)
  • God’s Present for the Future (1993)
  • Ikki Yakou (1993)
  • Monsters (1994)
  • Romance Dawn (Version 2, 1996)
  • “Romance Dawn” is the story that served as the template for One Piece, where young Luffy is inspired by local pirates to begin his own career of seafaring adventure.

    The title story, which Oda created at the cadaverous age of 17, apparently won some awards and came in second for an Osamu Tezuka Cultural Prize, which is not even a little bit shabby.

    WANTED! has been published in German by Carlsen Verlag.

    5 Responses to MMF: Wanted: WANTED!

    1. John says:

      I’d love to see Wanted released here especially since Oda incorporated “Monsters” into One Piece later on. I wish they’d bring over all the data and art books as well but chances of that happening are pretty dim.

    2. ABCBTom says:

      I bought a Japanese version of this at an anime convention, but I still haven’t tried to translate and read it yet. But that’s right: this is all of Oda’s manga work before One Piece, besides his time working as an assistant to Rurouni Kenshin’s Nobuhiro Watsuki. Back when I thought One Piece was a big joke of shounen slop, I read his bio and thought “Why would someone with such an auspicious beginning waste his career on a rubber pirate story?” It’s only one volume, Viz! Put it out! I have no qualms about buying it twice.

    3. [...] I wonder why someone (Viz) hasn’t published Oa’s WANTED! Answer: there is no good reason, so get on [...]

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 58 other followers

