Vacant lot?

Has anyone ever seen a copy of Vanyda’s The Building Opposite (Fanfare/Ponent Mon) in a bookstore or comic shop? I remember ordering it via Previews over a year ago, heard that it was delayed, and check periodically to make sure it’s still on my order list at the local comic shop, but the shop owner insists that it’s never shipped through Diamond.

I’ve seen a couple of reviews of it, but I can’t remember if the reviewers mentioned if the publisher had provided a complimentary copy or if they’d picked it up in a store. Apparently it’s one of the 10 best manga of 2006, and given Fanfare/Ponent Mon’s track record, that’s certainly plausible, but where can I buy it, exactly? The English version isn’t listed at Amazon or Barnes and Noble (though both offer the Spanish version), and there’s no joy at Buy.Com either.

Update: At MangaBlog, Brigid tracks down some sightings of this mysterious, reclusive book. In the comments below this post, Patrick provides visual confirmation of the Nessie of nouvelle manga’s presence at The Beguiling in Toronto. Makes sense. I ended up ordering Walking Man and Kinderbook from that fine establishment.

9 Responses to Vacant lot?

  1. Sebastian says:

    Well, I’ve never seen the *english* version, but I remember flipping through the french edition (“l’immeuble en face”) some time last year. I wasn’t terribly impressed, IIRC. The story might be good, but the art didn’t register as “worth buying” on my taste-radar then. Can’t say for sure without having read the thing, of course. Never considered it #1 material, though.

  2. […] UPDATE: David Welsh asks Has anyone ever seen a copy of Vanyda’s The Building Opposite (Fanfare/Ponent Mon) in a bookstore or comic shop? […]

  3. John Jakala says:

    Powells has a couple used copies available, but it doesn’t specify which edition it is. I’m guessing it hasn’t been widely released in the U.S. yet. I had a hard time finding Japan As Viewed by 17 Creators until recently.

  4. Ed says:

    No sightings yet at Berkeley’s Comic Relief or San Francisco’s Cody’s Bookstore.

    I am in the same boat – order placed currently delayed.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    I wonder what the deal is. Release dates are always relative with F/PM, but this is ridiculous.

  6. Patrick says:

    I’m pretty sure I saw coppies a couple months ago at the Beguiling. I’m pretty sure they order directly from F/PM though, not through Diamond because of just this situation. But you should probably just go ask Butcher.

  7. Huff says:

    I’ve never seen it in stores despite hearing about it ages ago, which isn’t really all that suprising since its from PM. I certianly would by it if I could find a copy (I should probobly check my store again as they always order PM stuff).
    But am I the only one who finds the PW list suprisingly lame? I mean I can understand diffrent taste, but Air Gear at #5? Basilisk at #2? Project X?!? I mean it almost seems like they threw together a sample of popular titles (some of them at least) that represent the diversity of the market.

  8. davidpwelsh says:

    Huff –

    Check out this conversation at MangaBlog. You’re not the only one.

  9. […] The British publisher Fanfare/Ponent Mon has built a reputation in the U.S. for publishing the greatest manga you’ve never seen. Their books are well regarded but hard to find in bookstores, so when Publisher’s Weekly’s Kai-Ming Cha picked the Fanfare title The Building Opposite as the best manga of 2006, the reaction from the blogosphere was a resounding “Huh?” […]

