Over and done

This week’s Flipped is up, and I’m still on a “Hey, that series that I really liked just ended, so I think I’ll write about it” jag. The latest manga from this weirdly large category is Fuyumi Soryo’s ES: Eternal Sabbath (Del Rey).

Speaking of series that I really liked that just ended, John Jakala takes a thoughtful look at the conclusion of Minetaro Mochizuki’s exciting and thought-provoking Dragon Head (Tokyopop), and picks some highlights from the series as a whole. What he said, basically.

5 Responses to Over and done

  1. thirstygirl says:

    I was partly sad to see the end of ES but also happy that Soryo knows how to pace a story and when is exactly the right time to stop. I realise a lot of people don’t like the calmness and measured pace of her storytelling but it’s one of the things that I really love about it: she gives the reader the time to work out all the horrific implications and impacts by themselves. The pace can be glacial but as a way of engendering a sense of slowing unfurling horror and unease? It’s perfect.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Very well said. I also thought it had the best ending of the recently completed series, mainly for the reasons you describe… it was tonally and structurally consistent with what had gone before, but it rewarded readers for sticking with it along the way.

  3. jun says:

    Wow, some of that art is gorgeous. I love the top panel in the last image included. I’ve been hoarding this series so I could have the luxury of reading it straight through. It should be lots of fun.

  4. Jack says:

    I agree with y’all. What a great roller-coaster ride ES was! It ended when it should have and payed us off quite nicely at the end. Proud placement on the proverbial bookshelf for this baby. Nice column, David!

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    Thanks, Jack! And good point about it being exactly the right length. I always love that quality in a comic, or any entertainment, really.

