Compared to WHAT?

A quick thought on this year’s Harvey Award nominations:


BEST AMERICAN EDITION OF FOREIGN MATERIAL

Witchblade Manga, Top Cow/Image

The HELL?

17 Responses to Compared to WHAT?

  1. It is SO easy to stack the nomination deck in the Harveys, I’m always surprised more people don’t do so.

  2. John Jakala says:

    I’m trying to count all the ways in which that’s wrong, but I think I’d need to go back to school for an advanced degree in mathematics first.

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    It defies calculation. I think that’s actually the equation that Matt Damon solved in that movie.

  4. Jason says:

    I’m still trying to figure out how our blog (www.meanwhilecomics.com) got nominated for an award.

    Must’ve been one of the 4 people who read it regularly…

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    Well, having a crush on The Defenders carries a lot of weight. I mean, depending on which era we’re talking about.

  6. davidpwelsh says:

    Oh, and congratulations!

  7. Huff says:

    I can’t believe I’m saying this, but the Eisner nominations are better than the Harvey noms this year. A LOT better. Who picked these?

  8. Jason says:

    HA! Well, thank you Mr. Welsh.

    I’ll ride this Defenders obsession through hell itself!

  9. Eva says:

    You say Witchblade Manga, I say Manga Shakespeare. Seriously? They’re the best?

    Apparently you and I are the only ones who liked that Aya nonsense. And Tekkonkinkreet? Rubbish.

  10. […] of old Previews. That’s the only way you could manage to miss all the good stuff. David Welsh is aghast, and his commenters agree, at Precocious Curmudgeon. (Illustration: The anatomically improbably […]

  11. […] this year’s Ballot Stuffing Award goes to William Van Horn and Gemstone, though it seems that this is the one that everyone will be pointing and laughing at — or maybe this one. (Right: Cover to the […]

  12. Oh, for fuck’s sake.

  13. […] McElhatton notes that the Harvey nominations are “SO easy to stack,” and if anyone was on the fence about that, well… Witchblade Manga. The prosecution […]

  14. Hazel says:

    Someone should be fired! I hope Moomin wins, although I’d like to see a manga artist take a stab at a moomin/witchblade combination…perhaps with less fanservice ^_^;

  15. […] this week I was working on a post that summarized a few less-than-enthusiastic reactions to the Harvey Award nominations. One nomination in particular kind […]

  16. […] to recognize their favorite peers and works in a wide variety of categories. You may remember me keening and gnashing my teeth over some of last year’s […]

