Upcoming 6/25/2008

Some of the highlights from this week’s ComicList:

Sometimes a quantity and quality of hype make me abandon my normal standards. The latest example of this phenomenon is Oku Hiroya’s Gantz (Dark Horse), which promises much higher levels of gratuitous violence than I can usually tolerate. But it sounds cool.

Del Rey offers lots of goodies this week, but I’ll single out the third volume of Ryotaro Iwanaga’s excellent Pumpkin Scissors for special attention. It’s about a squadron of soldiers working on post-war recovery, and it’s a really successful blend of adventure, suspense, and comedy. Fans of Fullmetal Alchemist would do particularly well to give it a look.

Fresh manga from Osamu Tezuka is such a gimme for makers of lists of this sort, because it’s always, always worth a look. This week, it’s the second volume of freaked-out shônen quest Dororo (Vertical) about a guy trying to get his body parts back.

And before I forget, I wanted to point to a couple of reviews with which I agree entirely. At Manga Recon, Kate Dacey looks at Fuyumi Soryo’s smart and satisfying ES: Eternal Sabbath. In a recent Right Turn Only column, Carlo Santos asks this important question: “Why is [Kitchen Princess] not as popular as Full Moon or Fruits Basket? The level of drama is just as good, and this heartbreaking A- [sixth] volume proves it.”

4 Responses to Upcoming 6/25/2008

  1. Huff says:

    Holy shit, Good-bye! I thought it wasn’t due till July. This is cause for much rejoycing.

  2. Michelle says:

    I don’t know why Fruits Basket is not as popular as Kitchen Princess. There was a certain point where I was obsessed with the former, and stopped, so I can’t really explain it to you. Perhaps because in the first few volumes, it just doesn’t appeal to teenagers? I’ve heard many call Kitchen Princess “childish”, though the big difference between Fruits Basket and Kitchen Princess to me seems to be that the humor and romance is a bit more “explicit”? Or perhaps Fruits Basket was more dramatic ever since the beginning, and Kitchen Princess is just starting? And perhaps also because Fruits Basket’s drama and characters are more dark. Abuse, ect. Note that both won Kondansha awards, but Fruits Basket won shojo, whereas Kitchen Princess won Children’s.

    I love ES, maybe partially because though I do think the creator has her own ideas about what she’s writing, she presents different views, different opinions, and let those opinions tell themselves through what’s happening. Being her story, it’s obvious she might give a little lean towards her opinion, but we are still allowed to judge for ourselves through the story, the characters, and her actions. I am not fond of being TOLD what to think, and having all evidence pointed to that without any other sides, or representations of why the other view might be alluring, or the bad points of the view commonly held. I’m just beginning to appreciate this fact because I just read a book where the author pretty much lectures through dialogue, so that the story wasn’t natural at all. It was like I was being forced-fed without being able to think for myself. ES takes a difficult subject, makes it interesting, exciting, thought-provoking, without forcing it on me.

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    That’s a good differentiation between KP and FB, Michelle. To be honest, I kind of thought KP was sort of a pale FB impersonation based on the first couple of volumes, but it really hit its stride at around the third. I also think KP is a bit less compressed than FB. The drama comes faster in the latter, though those moments are equally satisfying and surprising.

  4. Thanks for the shout-out, David! I picked up the first volume of ES about a year ago, had a “meh?” reaction and forgot about it. But when I saw you and Brigid both give it a thumbs up, I figured I ought to give it a second chance. Glad I did–that was eight volumes of pure manga bliss!

