Food, glorious food

I’m not much of a con-goer myself, but I like reading updates from folks like Deb Aoki, because sometimes I learn that very cool things are coming.

Oh my GOD, a food manga that’s been running for 102 volumes? About traveling reporters with a culinary obsession? Oh, Viz, you DO love me!

(Also, Deb was kind enough to actually send me est em’s Seduce Me After the Show, published by Aurora, and it is really, really good, but more about that later. Aurora has more em on the way.)

7 Responses to Food, glorious food

  1. jun says:

    Only 7 volumes of it, but still—I’m totally on board! TOKYOPOP also announced a couple of older titles by Natsuki Takaya. I have no idea if they’re actually any good, but they’re things I’ve been wanting to read for a long time anyway. The latter has a character who looks like he’s Shigure and Akito’s love child.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Wouldn’t that be “love-hate child”?

  3. jun says:

    I stand corrected.🙂

    I read some more about this license this morning at Anime on DVD. It was originally a 6 volume series, but the report says they’ll be releasing it in 3 volumes. Hopefully this means a nice chunky release like Jyu-Oh-Sei is getting.

  4. jun says:

    Hmm, my previous comment did not appear.

    I’d said that this was originally a 6 volume series, but a report on Anime on DVD says they’ll be releasing it in 3 volumes. Hopefully this means a nice chunky release like Jyu-Oh-Sei is getting.

  5. Deb Aoki says:

    Yes, indeed — TokyoPop is releasing Tsubasa: Those With Wings in three thicker volumes instead of the original 5 volume tankobons. This 3-volume format is bound this way because Takaya-sensei re-formatted it for a later reissue.

  6. Michelle says:

    At least something looks good to me in the list at Anime on DVD. I’m looking forward to Tsubasa: Those With Wings, even though the art and storytelling will probably not be as good as Fruits Basket. Maybe Tokyopop is doing Tsubasa: Those With Wings because it’s a guaranteed hit with Fruits Basket’s popularity.

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    I’m just hoping T:TWW brings some of the same heartbreak crack as Fruits Basket. It just speaks to the emotional masochist in me.

    Oh, Momiji… you kill me.

