Bookish

NPR’s All Things Considered has a nice piece on librarians at Comic-Con International:

“The librarians at Comic-Con report that the manga shelves at their libraries are often nearly empty because the comics get checked out so quickly. Many manga storylines have multiple volumes, so kids come back to the library to keep up with the plot. Librarians select manga titles with staying power that they hope will attract new readers of different ages.”

It’s a nice alternative to “People wear costumes!”, “Hollywood courts nerds!” and “San Diego prefers medical conventions!”

4 Responses to Bookish

  1. mark thorpe says:

    I wish these news reports would stop calling me a “kid”. I’ll be 29 in two weeks and I’m known to pick up a manga or two at my local library just to check it out and see if it’s worth buying. I’m starting to feel creepy as I pound my size 13 shoes into the young adult section and reach over the head of an eleven year old girl-child to grab the newest volume of Naruto. She turns around to see my six foot tall bald headed hulking frame looming over her, and I feel that I must take six steps back so as to maintain some shred of adult integrity. Can I please be an adult and still read Naruto, Full Metal Alchemist, Dragonball, One Piece, and D-Grey Man? I don’t like being lumped in with “kids”, and I don’t like feeling icky in the kids section of a library, standing on electric blue carpet with the Finding Nemo clown fish in the middle staring accusingly up at me.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Here’s the easiest solution: imaginary homebound children who have to read their comics through the sheet of plastic that protects their fragile immune systems from infection. It’s an awful lot to communicate through body language, but maybe we could get t-shirts printed up.

  3. jun says:

    *hees at mark’s story* I go into the YA section all the time, but it’s probably easier when you’re female. They probably just assume I’m somebody’s mom. *shudder*

  4. Eva says:

    I echo Jun’s shudder. I’ve stopped shopping in certain comic book stores because they’ve treated me like I’m somebody’s mom. Too bad, too, since I was there looking for new books to add to the library and was prepared to spend some serious money.

    Mark, thanks to NPR, everyone in the world knows I’m 40 and read manga. Embrace your 29-ness and grab that Naruto! And don’t forget to fill out the suggested book purchase forms at your local library if you want to see more manga in the adult collection — most libraries take customer requests pretty seriously.

