Blood splatter doesn’t matter?

This week’s Flipped is up over at The Comics Reporter. I join the chorus of voices wondering if the audience for cute, folklore-driven romantic comedy is also hungry for panty shots of beheaded corpses, and vice versa. In a weird way, I kind of hope it is.

8 Responses to Blood splatter doesn’t matter?

  1. mark thorpe says:

    I don’t know, is the book being sold at comic stores? I just don’t see my LCS buying many, if any, copies, and even if they do I cannot yet justify regurgitating $9.00 for a 400+ page magazine with no completed stories and content that, already, people are starting to fuss about. I’ve been down this road before with Raijin Comics, a great mixed bag anthology that, to this day, people still slam for the boobchopbloodspray content. Raijin Comics hit the shredder face first; I still have their unburied carcasses stacked in my closet like uninvestigated murder victims. But I’d like to give Yen a shot, and the biggest draw for me would be the severed heads stories. I make no apologies. These are dark days, friend, and Gantzphobia is running wild.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I haven’t seen it at the local shop, but their manga buying has dried up. (They pre-order anything you want, but if it isn’t a top-tier title, there usually aren’t any shelf copies.)

    I’m not really slamming it for having diverse content; I’m just curious if the market has changed enough that people will buy it for what they want and ignore what they don’t. (And if the content in whatever category is strong enough to support that.)

  3. Sebastian says:

    It’s definitely distributed by Diamond (#1 and #2 were solicited in June, #3 in July, #4 and #5 in August).

    I got my copy of #1 at my LCS last week (even outside the US, so no local-rights-only trouble there yet), didn’t read it completely yet. I flipped through all series though, and got a pretty good idea of the mag.

    The comparison to Raijin with regard to the very diverse (bordering on the haphazard) range of titles and to the lack of high-profile titles is certainly legitimate. Raijin had other additional problems though, the most prominent beeing the attempt at a weekly schedule, that Yen Plus doesn’t have.

    The best all-round title for me is “Maximum Ride”. Good story with very good art. “Night School” is also good, but seems a bit unfocused so far. I still like Chmakova’s art, but some of the character designs will take some more getting used to (I liked her piece in Flight 5 better, which is in yet another style). “One fine Day” seems nice and quiet and has good art, too.

    Most of the rest is of little interest to me, though. “Jack Frost” definitely is the worst offender here, it’s like the embodiment of all that I don’t like in manga. But also all of their japanese licenses look like B-list titles to me, which is kind of sad for a manga magazine. I’m pretty certain I’d buy none of those series on their own.

  4. Your impression of the magazine jibes with mine, Sebastian and David: I like the smorgasbord approach, but found that the OEL and manhwa content was generally more appealing than the licensed manga. Of the Square Enix titles, I felt only Bamboo Blade had promise.

    As for the bloodchopboobs controversy, I didn’t mind the violence nearly as much as the crude fanservice in Jack Frost. The Extreme Panty Shots were a little much, IMO.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    They did verge on the gynecological, didn’t they?

  6. I actually enjoyed Yen Plus. It does just what an anthology should; it give me the choice of reading a lot of different titles, some I’ll like and some I’ll won’t. But, I’m getting the chance to read a bunch of stuff I’ve never heard of before and wouldn’t try otherwise. Variety is the spice of life.

    As for Raijin, I think their problem was more economic than title selection. No one was ready in 2002 to spend $20 a month for a weekly magainze or over $100 in subsription for a manga anthology. Especially with Shonen Jump coming in at $20/YEAR with all well known and successful titles. It was just the wrong time and price for Raijin. If it came out now, with a $39-49 sub, I bet it would work.

  7. Michelle says:

    I’ll be honest with you, I didn’t enjoy Yen Press much. Don’t get me wrong, I like variety. I’m addicted to shojo, but I also read some shounen, and a lot of other stuff recommended to me that’s not in my usual reading realm. But THOSE, however, aren’t so obviously offensive to me.

    For example, I don’t like horror generally, but I have a real problem with Jack Frost not just because of the splatter, which is most possible the worse type of horror in my opinion, but because of the sickening fanservice. The rest on the shounen side suffered from the same problem, only not so badly, and I’m intrigued by Higurashi, so it’s still passable. And none of them are as violent and disgusting as Jack Frost.

    The more wide-ranged stories were disappointing too, though. I can see Nightschool and Maximum Ride reaching both sides, which is good, and it still has enough action to fit the rest of the magazine, but both were rushed and unfocused. Pig Bride might fit if it gets darker with the theme, which it might, judging by the first chapter. Honestly, the mask scared me.

    If Yen Press really wanted to make such a collective magazine, they should’ve licensed manga with a wider range of audiences. Or really, even just good in their respective ways. Because honestly, they’re really not. Just bland. Potential’s there, but at $10, I’m not going back if the next one doesn’t show anything.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Man, what a bunch of prudes…it’s just a girls panties, for christ sakes. It’s not Comic LO or anything.

    My two favorite series were One Fine Day and Jack Frost, so there’s definately some viewers out there who appreciate the diverse selections of Yen Plus.

