This is really awkward for me for a number of reasons, but I feel like I need to do it, so here goes.

My Mom passed away on Monday after a long illness. I have a big family, and everyone pulled together, so we’re all doing okay. We were able to move Mom to a hospice before the end, and it was a tremendously comforting place staffed by wonderful people.

If you’re making decisions about charitable donations and there’s a hospice care agency in your area, you might give it a look. It was a real haven for us. And if you haven’t thought about end-of-life care and talked about it with your loved ones, please do. Having your wishes known can really make a difference and add some measure of peace to a tumultuous situation.

23 Responses to

  1. jun says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, but it’s wonderful that you were able to find a caring place where she could be looked after in her final days. It’s getting to that time where I should probably begin talking about this with my parents, but it’s a tough topic to bring up.

  2. jdcarlson says:

    My best wishes and thoughts are with you. I’m very sorry for your loss.

  3. Brigid says:

    David, you are in my thoughts. And I wanted to second everything you said in this post; I wish I had thought to say it in mine. My father was actually on hospice for over a year, and it significantly improved the quality of his life. When the end came, they were there with medication to ensure that he would go peacefully and without pain.

    And yes, it’s hard to talk about end-of-life care, but I’m really glad we did. My father stated emphatically that he did not want a feeding tube, so when he lost his ability to swallow, we were spared the burden of deciding what to do. We discussed it when the Terri Schaivo case was going on; perhaps an easy way to bring it up is in the context of something in the news.

  4. Anna says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss.

  5. John Jakala says:

    David,

    My condolences for your loss. I wish you and your family the best during this time.

  6. […] one having a bad week: David Welsh’s mother passed away this week as well. David has some words of wisdom for all families, so drop by and offer your condolences. And to all of you who have left notes […]

  7. My condolences to u and ur family.

  8. Lea Hernandez says:

    My thoughts are with you, David. I’m glad you had support. I know from experience that it makes all the difference. Consider yourself hugged and well thought of.

  9. danielle leigh says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, and we are all thinking about you and your family.

  10. JennyN says:

    I’m sorry to hear this. – JennyN

  11. hoodedzippy says:

    David,

    Sorry to read of your loss via MangaBlog. Take good care and may you find much comfort in friends, family and comics at this time.

  12. Ryan says:

    David, I’m very sorry to hear of your loss. Please accept my condolences and best wishes.
    Ryan

  13. Connie says:

    I’m also very sorry about your mother’s death. My thoughts are with you.

  14. I’m really sorry for your loss. Jeez…this has been a rough week for a lot of people.

  15. Ed Sizemore says:

    My sincerest condolences David.

  16. […] Our condolences to Brigid Alverson on the loss of her father and to David Welsh on the loss of his […]

  17. Huff says:

    I’m really sorry to hear that. I hope everyone is doing okay. Stay strong.

  18. badtzphoto says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss.

  19. Condolences, David. Rest assured that you’re in our mind.

  20. Marla says:

    I’m sorry to hear of your loss.

  21. Myk says:

    I´m very sorry for your loss David. I´m really at a loss for words right now, but my thoughts are with you.

  22. Yamila Abraham says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss. It’s good to see you’re holding up so well.

  23. Hello –
    I am a documentary maker and hospice volunteer in Atlanta, Georgia.
    I’ve produced a short documentary about end-of- life decision making, palliative care, caregiving and hospice.

    It’s called 203 Days.
    You can view it in its entirety at the following University of Connecticut website along with a study guide.

    http://fitsweb.uchc.edu/Days/days.html

    It is an unflinching look at the day-to-day interactions between patient and caregiver, in this case an 89 year old woman who is living with her daughter.

    203 Days won the First Place 2007 Film Award from the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO).

    If you’d like more information please go to my website

    http://bbarash.com/bb_203days.htm

    I hope this film is helpful to people who want to know more about some of the most common experiences for caregiver and patient at this difficult time.

    Sincerely,
    Bailey Barash

