Tuesday links

Matt Thorn takes a well-informed, two-part look at some recent statistics from Japan on who’s reading manga and how much.

John Jakala contemplates re-readable manga over at Sporadic Sequential and baits me into composing my own list in the process.

Manga Recon has a handsome new portal.

Good Comics for Kids has joined forces with the School Library Journal, which makes total sense. Also, I covet the adorable new avatars for the contributors.

And, just because I’m trying to keep track of my nieces and nephews and see who else from my high school graduating class came out of the closet, I now have a Facebook profile.

3 Responses to Tuesday links

  1. John Jakala says:

    Ooo, I’d love to see your list of manga you most frequently re-read. I think it’s an interesting way of looking at one’s collection. I was going to assign re-readability scores to my favorite series, but I realized it was hard to quantify which books were the most re-read since there are different ways of re-reading them. Some I skim; some I search through for a particular reference or scene; some I study the artwork; and some I get completely sucked into time and time again.

  2. gynocrat says:

    I’m at Facebook also, but my account there just collects feeds from the Myspace page. ^_-

  3. Hey, David, thanks for the shout-out! Our fearless webmaster Jon Haehnle deserves the lion’s share of credit for the spiffy new interface and vastly improved site navigation.

