Recon recon

Since I’m too lazy to develop interesting content of my own, I’ll point you towards two really solid pieces over at the recently renovated Manga Recon:

First up is a round-table on MR contributors’ favorite CMX titles. (Note to self: try once again to convince people that Monster Collection: The Girl Who Can Deal With Magical Monsters is, in spite of its dubious provenance and cumbersome title, surprisingly awesome. Also: poach idea for future blog post or column.)

Second is a report on Yaoi-Con 2008 from Isaac Hale, “a real living and breathing gay male.” It’s well worth reading:

“There were definitely some nice aspects of the Con: I wasn’t assumed to be heterosexual (as I am everywhere else) and I was definitely welcomed by all the panelists and industry staff with great warmth. Furthermore, it was just relaxing to be in a place where male x male romance was desirable as opposed to being stigmatized. Generally though, that’s where my warm fuzzies ended.”

I’m sure he’ll get crap for it from people who think Yaoi Con is just fine the way it is, “Bishonen Spanking Inferno” and all, but I’m grateful for his frankness and perspective.

4 Responses to Recon recon

  1. gynocrat says:

    In regard to Hale’s report…what did he expect? By women for women. Yes, I’m sure I’ll get called a homophobe again for hammering that home, again. Yaoi isn’t about reality for its fans, why expect it’s fans to be real at a convention dedicated to it.

    I’m curious though, if this was an all-gay con dedicated to erotic gay manga/comics, would there be no biseinen-bingo, or bara-bear auction? Just curious. ^_^

  2. gynocrat says:

    I’m sorry. I just want you to know that I’m not trying to flame, and I’m not pissy or really that annoyed. I just don’t understand what he expected. 0_o.

    Playing D-av here, if he wanted to attend con to be validated socially, why a con dedicated to unrealistic sex comics/anime for women? Yaoicon has always been light on social awareness, no heavy stance on recognition of lifestyle as bad or good, no safe sex seminars or ‘how to respect gay men in the genre’ panels. Yaoi from Japan is not about reality, so why expect to be comfortable around a group of women that are fans of the unrealistic?

    ^_^

    I’m suddenly reminded of what Alex at Yaoi911 said: BL is all gay romance manga fans have right now, and that’s why we love it– but it seems that many gay fans are just unwilling to accept the fact that for female fans it’s not as socially significant–but *g* we’d really like it if you stopped making us feel like shit for it. ^_^’

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    Here’s my thinking: the event is open to the public, and anyone can attend provided they pony up for a ticket. Subsequently, anyone who attends can voice his or her response to the event in whatever venue is open to them, particularly if they happen to enjoy the material in the category, just as people who want him or her to get off their lawn can express that. Thus, the universal balance is maintained.

  4. gynocrat says:

    Thus, the universal balance is maintained.

    You’re so Zen, it’s scary.

