2008 continuing series

Here, in alphabetical order and without any real comment, are ten series that continued through 2008 that I really enjoyed:

  • After School Nightmare, by Setona Mizushiro (Go! Comi)
  • Empowered, by Adam Warren (Dark Horse)
  • Fruits Basket, by Natsuki Takaya (Tokyopop)
  • Gon, by Masashi Tanaka (CMX)
  • Hikaru no Go, by Yumi Hotta and Takeshi Obata (Viz)
  • Kitchen Princess, by Natsumi Ando and Miyuki Kobayashi (Del Rey)
  • The Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service, by Eiji Otsuka and Housui Yamazaki (Dark Horse)
  • Mushishi, by Yuki Urushibara(Del Rey)
  • Nana, by Ai Yazawa (Viz)
  • Suppli, by Mari Okazaki (Tokyopop)
  • Okay, so it looks an awful lot like what last year’s list would have been, but some good books just stay good, you know?

    7 Responses to 2008 continuing series

    1. jun says:

      I like the way you’ve organized your lists. That way, you get to include lots more!🙂

    2. Eva says:

      Your list looks exactly like my list except I’d swap Gon (I’m so not the target audience for this book) with Ouran High School Host Club, and Kitchen Princess (how have I managed to not read this yet?) for Fullmetal Alchemist. They’re guilty pleasures, but I love them so.

    3. davidpwelsh says:

      Oh, I’m a big fan of Fullmetal. It would probably have been #11 on the list; I don’t think 2008 was its best year, though. And sometime I really need to buckle down and check out Ouran. Maybe there will be a VizBig edition.

    4. I need to read more of Nana and Fruits Basket to get a better fele for them.

    5. jun says:

      I haven’t read Kitchen Princess yet, either, but since it recently finished, I’ll probably wait until the final volume (10) comes out so I can read it in a big chunk.

    6. […] a look back at manga and anime in 2008 and hazards a few predictions for 2009. David Welsh lists his favorite continuing series of 2008 at Precocious Curmudgeon. Deb Aoki gives her best continuing series list as well at About.com, and […]

    7. […] a few “Best of 08’s” are going around right now, including Manga Life’s, David Welsh’s, and Deb Aoki’s.  So I figure I’ll make one of my own – hopefully it’ll be okay, […]

