Housekeeping

Fumi Yoshinaga's "Antique Bakery" Vol. 2

I don’t know what the trigger was, but I finally reached the point where I couldn’t stand staring at all of this unrelieved text, so welcome to the glorious new era of the occasional cover image or scan. I begin with attractive men contemplating pastries. Now if I could just figure out how to wrap text around an image, I’d be golden. Oh, and if there were any other WordPress themes that I could stand, I’d probably change that too, but that will have to wait. And I don’t really mind the mighty red pen.

In other navel-gazing, I’m thinking it’s time to change the blog’s name. At over 40 years of age, it’s impossible to be precocious about anything but decline, so that’s a problem. It’s also awkward to say out loud on the rare occasions that require me to do so. (Maybe that’s why I don’t go to many conventions… fear of speaking my blog’s name aloud, like it’s “Candyman” or something.) But I don’t really have any alternatives in mind at the moment, and I wouldn’t change the address or anything. Still, I’ll always jump at an excuse to post a poll:

16 Responses to Housekeeping

  1. Try weirding people out at conventions with “Warren Peace Sings the Blues”. Actually, I got some business cards printed up, so I just hand those to people so I don’t have to say it. I did get the occasional “what does that mean?” though.

  2. Katherine Dacey says:

    My vote: I Lost It at the Spinner Rack. (With apologies to Pauline Kael, of course!)

  3. Deb Aoki says:

    I use this html code to wrap images in my wordpress entries:

    TEXT OF ENTRY HERE

    so for your entry above, see if this works:

    you can also change the “align=” tag to “align=”left” or “align=”center” and see how it looks.

    you can also hyperlink the image so that a click on the image takes you to either a larger version of the image or to a related article.

    i’m no html expert — but give this a try and see how it works on your end.

  4. David Welsh says:

    It’s hard to go wrong with a Kael reference, tied with A.O. Scott and Libby Gelman-Waxner as my very favorite movie reviewers of all time. And given the number of times I actually did lose it at the spinner rack, though perhaps not in the same metaphorical sense, it’s certainly worth considering.

  5. Deb Aoki says:

    argh! the codes didn’t show up. let’s try this. i’m going to replace the “” with [ and ] and see if they come out
    ———
    I use this html code to wrap images in my wordpress entries:

    [p][img src=”http://MYWEBSITE.com/NAMEOFDIRECTORY/IMAGENAME.jpg” hspace=”5″ align=”right”] TEXT OF ENTRY HERE[/p]

    so for your entry above, see if this works:

    [p][img src=”https://precur.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/antique_2.jpg?w=166&h=233″ hspace=”5″ align=”right”]

    you can also change the “align=” tag to “align=”left” or “align=”center” and see how it looks.

    you can also hyperlink the image so that a click on the image takes you to either a larger version of the image or to a related article.

    [p][a href=”http://WEBSITE_URL_HERE”][img src=”https://precur.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/antique_2.jpg?w=166&h=233″ hspace=”5″ align=”right”][/a]

  6. Deb Aoki says:

    wow. even the carat brackets don’t show up. wordpress is interesting, isn’t it?

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    It does seem a little persnickety about punctuation, doesn’t it? But thanks for the tips! Next time I work in some graphics, I’ll give that a try and see how it previews. (WordPress allows you to align things, but it doesn’t seem to wrap anything.)

  8. Sure it does. Just add your text first, add the image, click on it and then pick your alignment. I use wordpress for my blog, and that’s how I always wrap my text. Never had a problem yet.

  9. davidpwelsh says:

    See, when I pick the alignment, it looks like it just becomes a character in the sentence… it isn’t aligning itself separately from the stuff that I want to wrap around it.

  10. Brigid says:

    I think it may depend on the theme—I seem to remember that some themes don’t have wrapping built in.

  11. jun says:

    Even though I like your name, I voted that it’s not relevant to the content. Now that I think about it, though, neither is mine (Soliloquy in Blue). I came up with that because I was lazy and kept the original blue WP theme and then felt as if I was just gonna be rambling to myself.🙂

  12. davidpwelsh says:

    Mine came from being called that by a chemistry teacher when I was in high school.

  13. jun says:

    Hee. That’s awesome.🙂

  14. davidpwelsh says:

    And I’m pretty sure he meant it as a compliment.

  15. jun says:

    I would if I were a teacher saying that to someone.🙂

  16. Connie says:

    I don’t know, I vote for keeping any and all titles related to names given by chemistry teachers in high school. I don’t give blog names much thought myself, they may as well all be called by the name of the person who writes in them.

    But what I meant to say was that your “Candyman” reference will be inextricably linked to any and all blog titles said aloud in the future. Mine will certainly never cross my lips again.

