Who, indeed?

A panel from "Oishinbo," published in English by Viz Media

Oh, calm down, you burly, nitpicking SOB. You won’t find the answer to Kaibara’s imperious query in this week’s Flipped, but you will see my thoughts on the first volume of Oishinbo (Viz).

8 Responses to Who, indeed?

  1. My review is scheduled to go up next Friday (but in short, I more or less agree with you). One question, though… I’ve been under the impression that the Golgo 13 and Oishinbo A la Carte best-ofs aren’t Viz’s creations, but also editions that originated in Japan as well. Perhaps I have been mistaken…?

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I thought I said in the column that the “A la Carte” was a Japanese packaging that Viz picked up, but now I’m paranoid. Hang on.

    Okay, I did. I just didn’t word it very well. Not sure about Golgo, though. You’re probably right that the “Greatest Hits” structure was imported as well.

  3. Clearly I just can’t read for comprehension very well.🙂

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    No worries! I didn’t exactly stick the dismount in terms of writing for comprehension.

  5. jun says:

    I believe that the Golgo 13 greatest hits were actually a Japanese thing. Half a dozen or so volumes of stories were picked by fans and another half dozen chosen by the creator himself.

    Great review, David! I love the phrase “culinary anthropology.”🙂 I, too, kind of wish they’d release it from beginning to end, but more than that, I wish that we might get more of the a la Carte editions. I think there’s 40-something of them, and that seems more of a realistic wish to me.

  6. davidpwelsh says:

    It does seem realistic, though my scheme to pump up demand for the “A la Carte” editions by mentioning them as frequently as decency allows, thus ensuring that Viz releases more of them, may be less so.

  7. On the bright side, they’ve already got five or six scheduled for this year! Fingers crossed…

  8. Jay says:

    Oishinbo was fantastic. I’d long been looking for a manga on the subject, and it was a great read. I will be STUNNED if Viz publishes even a quarter of them in the US.

