Pie really isn’t that easy, you know

Because sometimes you just need to abuse what little power you have and play favorites, this week’s Flipped is devoted to Fumi Yoshinaga’s Antique Bakery.

9 Responses to Pie really isn’t that easy, you know

  1. gynocrat says:

    There was a two-page spread Yoshinaga love fest in the debut issue of G-Bless. They showed clips from the live action thing, and talked up the manga–they also have a list of their favorite Yoshinaga titles running across the bottom.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Did I hear correctly that Ono is straight in the live-action version? What the hell is that about?

  3. Robin B. says:

    Just had to chime in and say I am with you all the way on this one. It was one of the first manga I read for adults, and it remains my all-time favorite. I picked it up again while on vacation with a friend, meaning to just flip through it, and I ended up reading the first two volumes over again, laughing and sighing all the way. For me, it’s all about the gesture and reactions shots — I’ve never seen another mangaka nail those quite the same way. Why isn’t Ooku out yet!?

    And yes, Ono is straight in the live-action Korean drama (but not in the anime — in that one, they left well enough alone.) It’s puzzling, but I suppose not all that surprising.

  4. Eva says:

    Ooooh, Robin. I just finished reading Ooku and it’s wonderful. I can’t wait for it to come out for real. VIZ did a beautiful job.

    Have I mentioned that if I ever (God forbid) got to make a Make A Wish Foundation wish it would be to have Fumi Yoshinaga make me dinner? I’m sure I’m not alone in hoping a license for Kinou Nani Tabeta is announced soon.

  5. Danielle Leigh says:

    I hate Eva right now. 🙂

    Also, David, thanks for the lovely column on “Antique Bakery.” It was my first manga really intended for an adult audience and because I picked it up way back in 2005 (I think?) I believe I’m still here loving manga. God knows that “Hot Gimmick”s never would have sustained me….

  6. thirstygirl says:

    Hi David,

    There’s two versions that have been made- the Japanese drama where Ono is straight and they diverge wildly from the story and I don’t recommend it- and the Korean movie which came out very recently where they do an absolutely brilliant job of bringing it to life. The Ono character is perfect, there is No Hiding From the Gay, and I was genuinely impressed with how good an adaptation it was. [Also pretty pretty pretty men everywhere you look.]

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    Thanks, thirstygirl! I would have thought the manga’s audience would have been up in arms over the Japanese adaptation.

  8. thirstygirl says:

    Hmm, Im not sure if the manga’s audience would have watched the Japanese version- it was recognised as a Johnny’s drama [Tackey was Kanda] so it was aimed at a completely different [fangirl] audience. And overseas, the only copies available are hideously quality rips that were subbed by a Chinese company which didn’t hire native or indeed fluent English speakers. So it hasn’t had a lot of western exposure.

    However the Korean version was pretty big in Korea- http://www.dramabeans.com/2008/10/antique-press-preview-yields-interesting-fashions/
    And this is a screencap post highlighting the plentiful eyecandy-
    http://community.livejournal.com/rainscene/10432.html

  9. JRBrown says:

    Just saw the Korean adaptation (it’s out on DVD – region 3 only at this point), and although it was a very enjoyable movie (with gratuitous fan-service by way of pulchritudinous shirtless men), I wasn’t entirely happy with how they handled Ono/Seon-woo (everyone has been renamed). He’s significantly meeker and more passive than in the manga (at least when not being the Gay of Demonic Charm), and he’s passionately (and fruitlessly) in love with Tachibana/Jin-hyeok, which becomes his major apparent motivation for not going back to France with Jean-Baptiste. I think they wanted to throw in some Grand Romance, and since Jean-Baptiste is an abusive SOB they picked Tachibana. Or maybe they thought that Kim Jae Wook kissing Joo Ji Hoon would go over well with the fanbase.😉

    Kim Jae Wook is also significantly prettier and more feminine than manga-Ono, but he’s spectacularly hot so I’ll forgive that.😀

