Eve as violent yet nurturing cyborg

There’s a new Flipped up at The Comics Reporter. I was pleasantly surprised to see some of Dark Horse’s seinen-iest seinen series show up in an early Graphic Book Best Seller List at The New York Times, so I decided the time was (relatively) right to take a look at Hiroki Endo’s Eden.

One Response to Eve as violent yet nurturing cyborg

  1. hcduvall says:

    I think you described Eden well, it weaves in plot and philosophy better than similar series do–though in the end it still didn’t charm me quite as much. I couldn’t quite shake the feeling that some of talking head points were only half formed, a habit in this type of series that wants to talk philosophy in the middle of plot/action. It wasn’t that the creator was using the series itself to develop his own thoughts as is sometimes the case, but rather that sometimes he would drop in an idea that just wasn’t that compelling. This isn’t the best example of my example, just about Endo’s idea delivery technique, but at least in Vol. 1 I can think of a scene where trained soldiers are tired because of the high altitude, a point that a character explains, and I couldn’t shake the feeling that the creator learned/knew that air is thinner at altitude, and had to fit it in as a factoid, and made up a reason (arguably, fit soldiers are going to handle it better than most, no?). This seems to happen a lot in the type of manga I like, which I would otherwise embrace wholeheartedly.

