License Request Day: Witches

After a customarily long week in the real world, I always find it a little difficult to develop content on Fridays. To give myself a regular, relatively undemanding Friday project, I’m instituting License Request Day! (And since I’ve hidden the categories under a drop-down menu, it won’t make the sidebar any more ungainly. Bonus!)

witches1This week’s choice is Daisuke Igarashi’s Witches.

Viz is about to publish Igarashi’s Children of the Sea in its Signature imprint, so I thought to myself, “Why not strike while the iron’s hot?” It was originally serialized in Ikki, one of Viz co-owner Shogakukan’s mangazines. Witches received the Excellence Prize at the 2004 Japan Media Arts Festival. The book has been published in French as Sorcières (Casterman). It was an Official Selection of the 2007 Angoulême Festival. Here’s the description from the festival catalog:

“Considered to be one of the best newcomers in Japan, Daisuke Igarashi is the high priest of Nature and its mysteries. In parallel to his comic activity, he has also been a farmer for several years… Be they kindly or fiendish, Igarashi’s witches are the guardians of an ancestral truth that is jeopardized by contemporary civilization. Spiritually close to Kenji Miyazawa’s poems, these collected stories distinguish by their graphic power and the strong animistic beliefs of their author.”

You can get a taste of Igarashi’s work in Fanfare/Ponent Mon’s Japan as Viewed by 17 Creators, which you should all want to read anyway.

Sample images:

  • Profile at Lambiek.Net
  • Review of Sorcières at Ler BD
  • Got a suggestion or a request of your own? I’ll be happy to post guest requests on future Fridays, so keep it in mind, and contact me if you’ve got an urgent item on your own wish list.

    17 Responses to License Request Day: Witches

    1. Ed Sizemore says:

      I’m going to have to old school and request GeGeGe no Kitaro,all the works of Buichi Terasawa, all the works of the Magnificent 49ers.

    2. Sebastian says:

      I’ll go with Tsukasa Hojo. I believe “Angel Heart” would do great in the US market, even without “City Hunter”. For me, it’s the perfect mix of action, drama and wacky humor. I’m reading the French edition, which is at vol.26 (of 29, ongoing) currently.

    3. badzphoto says:

      Here is my list: Chi’s sweet home (チーズスイートホーム), Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (YKK), Master Keaton, more of MORINAGA Ai, more of Ai Yazawa, and more of HIKAWA Kyouko.

    4. James Moar says:

      Bokurano by Mohiro Kitoh. And pretty much anything by Tezuka.

    5. Fai says:

      Oh,where do I start?
      First of all, let’s get the classics out:

      The Sond of the Wind and the Trees (Kaze to Ki no Uta) by Keiko Takemiya. One of the female mangaka’s that pioneered shoujo manga! If only there was someone who made shoujo like that.

      More Fuyumi Souryo(creater of ES and Mars), preferably her older works such as Boyfriend.

      More Setona Mizushiro(creater of After School Nightmare). I really wih 1999 Shanghai was publised. A bit dated on art, but absolutely beautiful story. Also,The Cornered Mouse Dreams of Cheese- it supposedly falls under both josie and yaoi (what?) I know. The charactersare hateful, but the story is moving.

      Second YKK and Ai Yazawa,infact, let’s do a reprint of Paradise Kiss while we’re at it.

      I’m about to add more, but my time on the library computer is almost up…

    6. Connie says:

      I don’t have the book with me, but which of the stories from Japan as Viewed by 17 Creators was done by Daisuke Igarashi? Just so I can remember his style.

    7. davidpwelsh says:

      He did “The Festival of the Bell-Horses.”

    8. Danielle Leigh says:

      Setona Mizushiro’s latest (very mature) shojo work is amazing. The Cornered Mouse Dreams of Cheese is also a must.

      Yugi Yamada does josei. I wants. Also all of her yaoi.

      Yayoi Ogawa’s ice-skating josei drama, Kiss & Never Cry.

      Fuyumi Souroyo has an amazing historical work, Cesare, about guess who?!

      Maki Enjouji’s smutty, fun josei. Her men are infuriating, her women sensible. I love it.

      There’s probably a lot more but this is enough for now.

    9. Fai says:

      Speaking of historical, if we could get Histoire by Hitoshi Iwaaki (creater of Parasyte) that would be wonderful. Ancient Greece anyone?

      Sakura Gari by Yuu Watase is something that would make me die of happiness if licensed in English. Another historical one. But this time she’s doing yaoi. And it’s her darkest work as of yet. On a personal note, I never really enjoyed her shoujo works (heroines are too bubbly, annoying) but I fell in love one. A bittersweet beautiful tragedy that will capture you from the very first chapter. Who knew this woman could write like this! I seriously recommend all of you to go read this now!!!

      Second anything by Yugi Yamada. That woman is fantastic.

      Along with Fumi Yoshinaga. I know we’ve got quite some, but we need more! This time, let’s bring in What Did You Eat Yesterday? Remember when I said josei and yaoi a while ago? This is a shonen ai/seinen title (what?) This woman never ceases to amaze me. (Is it possible to bring over her doujinshii’s of Antique Bakery as well?)

      I want more of Mizu Sahara/Yumeka Sumomo. Especially My Girl. A single father and daughter relationship. Sad, sweet, and hopeful.

      Usagi Drop by Yumi Unita is also another must.

      Mhmm, let’s also bring Chokotto Sister, by Go Zappa and Sakura Takeuchi.

      And lastly, Inio Asano (mangaka of Solanin). What a Wonderful World is coming out later this year, of what I’ve heard from ANN, but we seriously need more from this guy. A LOT more.
      First on the list?

      Nijigahara Holograph. Blew my mind away. This is one of those stories that would probably be best if read in one sitting. And even then, you’ll have to reread it to understand what on earth happened. It’s brilliant, but it’s written unconventionally and may lead readers to think that nothing make sense here. But the plot does come in full circle, you just have to think about it.

      I’ve got a couple more titles to shout out, but I’ll end it here for now.

    10. zack soto says:

      It’d be nice if you published some art fromt he interiors of said books to whet people’s appetites.

    11. davidpwelsh says:

      That’s a good idea. I’ll try and track some down in the future.

    12. […] through the May Previews to plan his future buying. And he has a request for manga publishers: Please license Witches, by Daisuke Igarashi, creator of Children of the […]

    13. thirstygirl says:

      Hmm most of my series have been covered- Cornered Mouse; Usagi Drop; Kiss & Never Cry; the Antique Bakery DJs; a whole of lot things by Yamada Yugi [even though I know she doesn’t sell that well because people find her art Odd]

      I’d love Ai Yazawa’s Neighbourhood Story but the one I’d die for is Kodaka Kazuma’s Kusatta Kyoushi no Houteishiki, despite knowing how very unlikely it is ever to get licensed- CHASTE schoolboy/teacher romance, art that takes a lot of getting used to, held in the Biblos licensing void…

    14. thirstygirl says:

      And now I’m kicking myself for forgetting Tokyo Crazy Paradise! [I love the fact that Viz advertise on Skip Beat! covers that it’s by the artist of… but the only exposure the English-speaking audience would have is scanlations]

      Seriously- I WANT these on my shelves

    15. […] take us? Not to a restaurant at the end of the universe but a diner after the end of the world. Commenter badzphoto pointed towards Hitoshi Ashinano’s Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô. It’s science-fiction slice-of-life, […]

    16. […] Igarashi is an award-winning manga creator who began his career in 1993. His series Majo received the Excellence Prize at the 2004 Japan Media Arts Festival and was nominated for the Fauve […]

    17. […] the actual object. Also, if lots of people buy Children of the Sea, we might get Igarashi’s Witches sometime in the […]

