License Request Day: Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô

ykkcoverWhere will this week’s trip on the Wish List Express take us? Not to a restaurant at the end of the universe but a diner after the end of the world. Commenter badzphoto pointed towards Hitoshi Ashinano’s Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô. It’s science-fiction slice-of-life, which is always a promising combination. Here’s Japanese publisher Kodansha’s summary:

“Set in a near-future world, which is slowly sinking beneath water, Alpha is a coffee shop on the edge of the Miura peninsula that is run by a robot called Alpha for a long-time absent owner. Alpha lives like a human being: She is on good terms with her neighbors and especially friendly with the gas station owner and Takahiro, the boy who lives with him. Another robot and good friend, Cocone, is a delivery girl. She brings Alpha a gift of a camera from the estranged owner of the coffee shop.

ykkpage

“In a world of fewer human beings with no major industry, mankind faces extinction. Each day is taken as it comes. Everyone is proud of their easygoing life. Alpha is understanding and mindful of this situation.”

So basically, it sounds tonally and structurally similar to Kozue Amano’s Aqua and Aria (Tokyopop), though more densely written. And honestly, how bad can that be?

The series scores “in good company” points for being serialized in Kodansha’s Afternoon, a magazine that has given English-reading manga fans such titles as Genshiken, Parasyte, Love Roma, and Eden: It’s an Endless World! In fairly short order, English-reading manga fans will also be able to enjoy Moyasimon: Tales of Agriculture, also originally serialized in Afternoon. (Correction: Moyasimon was actually serialized in Kodansha’s Evening, not Afternoon. I must have confused it with Mushishi, originally serialized in Afternoon, available in English, and wonderful.)

Maybe I should just ask for an English-language version of Afternoon and be done with it?
ykkpage2

9 Responses to License Request Day: Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô

  1. scottfrye says:

    It’s very similar to Aria but its more of a visual manga w/ not much dialogue. I would say that its alot more laid back than Aria and has a much slower pace.

    I love this manga and I would like an license of it. I don’t know if there is a big market for it. So I’m not sure anyone will pick it up. It’s also a bit old. I think the 1st volume was in 1994.

  2. […] This week’s license request from David Welsh is a fan favorite: Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô. […]

  3. If this isn’t David Welsh Bait, I don’t know what is! I’d love to see this available in English myself…

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    I know! If it weren’t for the whole “incipient financial ruin” aspect, you’d think more publishers would ask themselves, “Yes, but is it David Welsh Bait?”
    😉

  5. john says:

    Yes, more stuff from “Afternoon” please! I used to read the Taiwanese edition of Afternoon when I lived in Taiwan, and it was wonderful comics aimed at an intelligent adult/mature audience. it reminded me somewhat of 2000AD actually because of the science fiction bent to it. I was very disappointed when the Taiwanese edition stopped publishing. In a world with Viz’s Shonen Jump and Shojo Beat, “Afternoon” would be excellent company.

  6. Colonylaser says:

    John:
    Taiwanese publisher Tong-Li published all 14 volumes. I bought them all. Don’t know where you can find the rest. You can always try books.com.tw, or yahoo taiwan (but I could never get them to accept my registration unlike yahoo japan). It may be too late since it was last pub in 2004 (I think). There are also number of places in the US that you can request them to order for you from Taiwan.

  7. john says:

    I have eight issues of Afternoon from Oct 2000 to May 2001, which was the last issue that I found there.

    I don’t rate my chances of finding any earlier issues since I never really saw the comic books themselves (as opposed to the tankubons) second hand anywhere in Taipei. Not in the Guanghua market anyway…
    I could try Taiwan Ebay I guess.

    Just for the record, the stories these issues were Ah, My Goddess; Milk Closet; Seraphic Feather; Mugen no Junin; Inugami; Kami Kaze; Joker and Pocoymkin.

  8. […] be evident by now that I’m a huge fan of quirky, slice-of-life titles, so Hitoshi Ashinano’s Yokohama Kaidashi Kikô is high on my wish […]

  9. […] One of those is by Hitoshi ASHINANO, and it’s called Yokohama Kaidashi Kikō. I’ve written about that book here. […]

