Prithee click

ooku3

This week’s Flipped is up, offering my view of Fumi Yoshinaga’s very eagerly anticipated and (in my opinion) not at all disappointing Ôoku: The Inner Chambers.

2 Responses to Prithee click

  1. Tina says:

    I anticipated a manga about a female dominated world. I wanted drama amongst women that didn’t revolve around the men in their lives, or men in general. :/

    It took time for me to get around the ye-olde English, still not sure if I like it – but I was a bit put off by Volume 1. Don’t get me wrong, I love inner-chamber all male intrigue, but when I saw the ads for the book, I expected a female-driven driven plot and not ‘men as women’ having trauma drama in au/shogunate Japan.

  2. JRBrown says:

    I wasn’t taken by the period dialogue. It’s misused, with a smattering of olde-tyme words mixed with modern phrases and constructions, in a way that I found annoying.

    I was kind of interested by the fact that the story is sticking to the historical timeline, even to the names of the shogun and their ages and ascension dates. (The model for Ooku’s shogun, Tokugawa Yoshimune, was indeed a penny-pincher who fired a lot of officials.) Considering the visit of the Dutch guy and the musings of the shogun at the end of V1, I’m wondering if Yoshinaga is going for strict concordance with foreign descriptions of Japan from the era.

