Meanwhile, up at Javits

I’ll get into Vertical’s announcements from the New York Anime Festival at a later date (Monday, to be precise), but I did want to highlight some of the other on-deck properties that caught my eye. (Deb Aoki has the full list at About.Com.)

genteI’m finding myself increasingly taken with Natsume Ono’s House of Five Leaves with each new chapter that Viz posts, so Ono’s Gente will definitely be on my radar. I don’t really think older Italian men in aprons, at least of the kind who might appear in manga for grown-ups, need any help looking sexy, but that might just be me. It’s a follow-up to Ono’s Ristorante Paradiso, which Viz has scheduled for release in March 2010. Gente is due in July 2010.

My desire to read about ass-kicking fictional librarians has often left me disappointed, but I remain optimist enough to give Hiro Arikawa and Kiiro Yumi’s Library Wars: Love and War a try. It’s due in June 2010.

On the Del Rey front, I liked Kitchen Princess a lot, but I liked it mostly for Miyuki Kobayashi’s surprisingly moody writing rather than Natsumi Ando’s cute but generic art. That said, I’ll certainly give Arisa a try, even though it’s about identical twins who meet later in life, and I’m still gun-shy on that subject after the clinically insane second volume of Papillon.

Bonus points to Del Rey for publishing the rest of Hiro Mashima’s Rave Master after Kodansha pulled the license from Tokyopop three volumes before the end.

Tokyopop has certainly published an awful lot of Natsuki Takaya’s manga, and that will continue with Songs and Laughter. In spite of (or maybe because of) my love for Fruits Basket, I’ve been hesitant to pick up other translated work by the creator, fearing disappointment. Can anyone recommend a title in this category?

6 Responses to Meanwhile, up at Javits

  1. Ysabet says:

    Can anyone recommend a title in this category?

    Her earlier works are in no way as polished as Fruits Basket, and going in expecting them to be the same is probably going to result in disappointment. (Bearing in mind that Fruits Basket is my Favorite Thing Ever.) I can’t speak to Songs and Laughter, but I’ve read most of Those With Wings and all of Phantom Dream (and am biased towards the latter, being the adapter).

    TWW and Dream are very different works, and Dream is older, although I think somewhere in there she was working on them concurrently. Judging by other reviews, it seems like people usually have a strong preference between them. TWW is more of a lighthearted adventure story with a few dark undertones, at least for the first 2/3. (I don’t know how it ends.) Dream is much darker and full of strange plot twists, and some people find it hard to follow for the first volume or so, but thematically I think it’s much more of a precursor to Fruits Basket. I like the story and the characters, but I also find it interesting to watch her storytelling develop.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Thanks, Ysabet! I’ll probably read both before all is said and done.

  3. I’ve read both, too, and personally prefer Dream to Tsubasa. It does take a volume or so to really begin working, but it’s definitely the more riveting tale by the end of its third volume.

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    And hey, it took Fruits basket a volume or so before it started breaking my heart every other page, so nothing wrong with that.

  5. […] also really glad that Viz has added a number of other Natsume Ono titles to its Signature line-up (Gente, not simple, Ristorante Paradiso), because House of Five Leaves has left me with ridiculously high […]

  6. […] 2003 with the web comic LA QUINTA CAMERA and subsequent works not simple, Ristorante Paradiso, and GENTE (a continuation of Ristorante Paradiso) have met with both critical and popular acclaim. In 2009 […]

