Boo

presentsscan

You have to love a candy-driven holiday, so this week’s Flipped has a Halloween theme. In short, I turned to a bunch of smart people to find out what their favorite scary and/or supernatural manga are. Not to give too much away, but you know what really scares people?

gyoscan2-1

I am so with them. What are your favorite frightening series? And what series do you find frightening that probably weren’t intended to give you the chills?

3 Responses to Boo

  1. Sadie says:

    I love horror manga and the scariest I’ve ever read is Uzumaki. It’s so wrong!

    I also like Drifting Classroom.

    I think I Luv Halloween was supposed to be funny? But it just creeped me out.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I thought I Luv Halloween was so smugly nihilistic and really disliked it. Clearly the product of talented people, but the tone drove me up a wall.

  3. I really loved Rumiko Takahashi’s Mermaid Saga. Mermaid Forest was the very first graphic novel I ever bought for myself. You can’t go wrong with a classic “quest for immortality goes horribly wrong” story, and Takahashi got to play with all the variants. Horrible mutations, creepy immortal children, undeath, wretched half-life, et cetera.

    Petshop of Horrors had some damn lovely stuff. Episodic linked short stories, some of them good, some of them not. But it was a fun concept and a heckuva sandbox the mangaka gave herself to play in. The creature character designs were cool as anything.

    Tokyo Babylon is a guilty pleasure of mine. I’m not sure WHY I feel guilty about loving it, exactly. It’s just so… tweeny and decadent, somehow. I love it so. Gorgeous CLAMP artwork. Liberal doses of shounen-ai seasoning. Lots of cool ghosts. Fluffy, melancholy, sinister, and heart-ripping-out-and-stomp-on-it-y by turns. Damn, I need to reread that thing.

