Campus life

The imminent comic-shop arrival of Moyasimon: Tales of Agriculture (which has been in bookstores for a few weeks now) inspired me to devote this week’s Flipped to some fine manga comedies set on college and university campuses. It also inspired me to run this poll as an alternative to actual content development.

Please feel free to mention any titles I missed, licensed or otherwise, in the comments. (I should explain that I excluded The Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service from the column because I tend to categorize it with “helpers of the dead” manga instead of “campus comedy” manga.)

6 Responses to Campus life

  1. Danielle Leigh says:

    Great flipped! I heartily endorse each and every one of your picks.

    Quick note — for Yoshinaga’s Law School romance you got the one that cooks (Tohdou) and the one that eats (Tamiya) mixed up (Tohdou ends up cooking for Tamiya in order to stay close to him as a friend, even though Tamiya doesn’t seem to like much else about him personally. Until he offers his body in one of those, “oh well, we’re graduating. might as well give the poor bastard a taste” sort of pacts).

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Ah, crap, something in the back of my head told me that was happening even as I typed.

  3. JRBrown says:

    I’m gonna vote for Hinako Takanaga’s sadly out-of-print Challengers, even though only a little of it is set in and around a college, because it’s funnier than any of the things on the list (that I’ve read).

    Also, which bookstores have you been in that had Moyasimon in them? I haven’t found a single copy anywhere around Boston…

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    I saw it in the local B&N here in West Virginia, which kind of surprised but pleased me. This was maybe three weeks ago? Four?

  5. badzphoto says:

    Of the titles above, I’ve only read 3 and like everyone of them so it’s hard to vote (Venus in love, Nodame Cantabile, and Honey and Clover). Two titles:
    The Palette of 12 secret colors
    The name of the flower (starting in volume 2)

  6. […] manga with college settings in this week’s Flipped column, and he follows that up with a poll at Precocious Curmudgeon asking readers to vote for their favorites. Over at Myth and Manga, Akemi […]

