The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: E

“E” is for…

Emma1

ES1

LaEsperanca1

“E” is also clearly for “exigent circumstances,” as there just aren’t a lot of strictly shôjo-sunjeong titles that start with this letter that I really like. And yes, I know that two of these titles are technically seinen, though I don’t think anyone at CMX would mind if you decided that Emma was shôjo. And while ES is also seinen, Fuyumi Soryo is also a highly regarded shôjo creator.

All that said, what are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “E”?

15 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: E

  1. Lissa says:

    Tough letter! I really enjoyed Kaori Yuki’s Earl Cain series though I’m not sure if I’d classify it as a shoujo? Great creepy series though.

  2. So, I usually head over to my review index when you make these posts, to see what I have there… and I realized there is not a single thing on the list that starts with the letter “E”. Very sad.

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    The only other technically correct title I could think of was Eerie Queerie!, and I really don’t like that book. So I figured, why not fudge in favor of some of my old favorites?

  4. Safety says:

    Epotoransu! Mai, another shorter, older Yu Watase series that’s not licensed here. Published as two volumes and later as a single. Really cute story about a girl who has a computer that can change her into anyone, and her love for the most popular bot at school who’s also a massive otaku. Come on, Viz…

    Yeah, “E” is a hard letter. “Emma” is the first that comes to mind.

  5. badzphoto says:

    How about Earthian?

  6. Yeah, I got nothin’.

  7. Connie says:

    I would vote for Eviyone, a gorgeous sunjeong series that retells the Little Mermaid with swapped genders and period costumes. Good stuff.

    I also liked Embalmer, but I think it’s technically josei. It’s still the only manga I’ve read that takes place in Pittsburgh, at least partially.

    I haven’t read any of the ones you posted, but you’re right, E is sort of a tough letter. I would also agree with you that Eerie Queerie was not so great.

  8. Fai says:

    I cheated a little (all except the first two are unlicensed in English):
    – Eroica Yori Ai wo Komete (though I assume we will be seeing this title in very shortly
    – Evyione – lovely art. The story is similar to The Little Mermaid, but roles are switched around)

    —— (unlicensed)
    – Eternity With You (Eien no With)- beautiful story of a girl and her dog
    – Eensy-Weensy Monster – short, sweet, and cute romance by the same author as Kare Kano

  9. Ahavah says:

    ES: Eternal Sabbath is seinen? Could’ve fooled me! I really liked that one. It’s shorter and less soapy than Souryo’s Mars, which is a plus. Emma is incredible. Labels, shmables, Emma is shojo in my heart!

    Just a question: Are you going to do one of these for titles starting with numbers? I really want to mention “50 Rules for Teenagers” in hopes of a license rescue…

  10. Ephidel says:

    Epotoransu Mai is one of the few that comes to mind. I can’t remember very much about it though, except that it was by Yuu Watase and involved a guy coming out of an electronic diary ^^;

  11. lys says:

    Hmm… Empty Empire? I’m not entirely sure what I think of it, but it’s rather interesting so far (it’s been released completely by CMX, but I haven’t collected all the volumes yet) and deserves a mention just because no one in the world seems to have heard of it. And Eensy Weensy Monster is an adorable 2-volume series I’d love to see licensed!

    I haven’t read it, but yes, Earl Cain (/Count Cain) would count as shoujo since it ran in one of the Hana to Yume magazines. Shoujo can be creepy too😀

  12. Les says:

    EEEEE…That’s a hard one. The only thing that comes to mind is the 6 volume Erica Sakurazawa collected works that Tokyopop released back in the day, although technically I believe it’s considered josei.

  13. thirstygirl says:

    E really is a tough one. One series I’d *love* to get licensed is Eikawa School Wars by Matsumoto Tomo about a girl who’s forced to go to English language school and her battles with her grumpy [but hot] teacher.

  14. davidpwelsh says:

    Ahavah: Yup, ES ran in Weekly Morning, as does her current series, Cesare, which is about the Borgias. And great idea on the numbers entries. I’ll get to those after the letters.

  15. yuu says:

    Eikou no Napoleon, sequel of Rose of Versailles. It’s not licensed in US, obviously.

