The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: L

“L” is for…

And while it isn’t technically shôjo, I don’t like to imagine a world where anyone who’s read this book doesn’t love it…

Also, there are roughly one billion yaoi titles that start with the word “Love.” I leave it to you to tell me which are the best.

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “L”?

11 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: L

  1. For manga, I’d like to add Legal Drug (despite its unfinished status).
    For manhwa, Legend. Though it took six volumes to truly capture me, I am now firmly in its grasp! Also, Let Dai. Though I’m not sure BL counts in this category, as BL goes, it is incredibly tame (lots of romantic jabbering, sexual content only implied). I have about thousand caveats in terms of recommendation, but man is it addictive. Some people have Hot Gimmick. I have Let Dai. Heh.

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    Hee! Yeah, I’m always game to include some BL in the list, but I couldn’t quite commit to Let Dai, owing to those exact same caveats. But I cannot believe I forgot Legal Drug. I must rectify that immediately.

  3. Rij says:

    Loveless would head my personal list of favourites, but that’s the only title I can come up with that you didn’t already mention.

  4. badzphoto says:

    Great list. I’d add Last Quarter by Ai Yazawa.

  5. Heather says:

    I enjoy TOKYOPOP’s Life and Les Bijou, but I would also list VIZ’s Love Song. It was one of the first shoujo releases in the US.

  6. Connie says:

    I’ll second Let Dai, which is one of my absolute favorites despite all its madness. Land of Silver Rain is a favorite manhwa of mine too, but only the beginning and the end.

    And yikes, there is lots of BL. Ludwig II, Lies & Kisses, and Lovers in the Night were all pretty good, and I’d add in the Lonely Egoist novel for good measure and its trashy fun.

  7. Joy says:

    I’m just starting to read Land of the Blindfolded after years of having it recommended to me, and it is adorable!

  8. Lorena says:

    Great list! This was a great reminder that I still need to finish Land of the Blindfolded – it’s a great series that I’d recommend wholeheartedly. Time to dig through the library catalog again!

    Of course, Love*Com and Love Attack are quirky, non-traditional high school romances that always make me laugh, while Lizard Prince and Lapus Lazuli Crown are cute little romances for the tween set. With so much “love” in this category, you’ve really picked the best ones out there!

  9. the moon in autumn says:

    Lie to Me (part of that Netcomics Novella collection) was pretty good, too.

  10. Kisaragi says:

    I love Lovely Complex/Love*Com. I mean, who doesn’t love a series with a cross-dressing love rival? (Seiko-chan~… <3)

  11. davidpwelsh says:

    Agreed on that, Kisaragi. The cross-dressing love rival is my favorite thing about Butterflies, Flowers.

