Sexy Voice and Robo MMF: Ogiue Maniax from 2008

Ogiue Maniax wrote in to share this review from 2008:

“Ah, Kuroda Iou’s Sexy Voice and Robo. I must say, I love this manga. Not because of the characters, though they’re all really engaging and interesting to watch, and not because of the story, though it is very entertaining and its premise is unique. No, I love Sexy Voice and Robo because of the art.

“It is so damn good that it makes me cry.”

8 Responses to Sexy Voice and Robo MMF: Ogiue Maniax from 2008

  1. Judi says:

    I have to admit, I know nothing about this manga. Till this, I had never heard of it. It sounds as if the art is it’s biggest draw, but the story is also wonderful. After reading some of the reviews so far, all I can think of is the Japanese movie Densho otoko”Train Man”. This is a wonderful movie with the same sort of characters and ideas(not the same plot). I highly recommend it, if you like the Sexy Voice and Robot.
    Is Sexy out of print?

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I’ve read the manga adaptations of Train Man and seen the movie. My favorite of the comics versions is probably Viz’s, I think.

  3. Tony Salvaggio says:

    Wow, I looked up when I did my review of Sexy Voice and Robo. I can’t believe it has been that long since Calling Manga Island was going on. It’s good to see this book getting more press. It is awesome!

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    It’s weird how manga time flies, isn’t it? It’s like some weirdly compressed continuum.

  5. Tony Salvaggio says:

    Indeed. I dig that you have been keeping the faith though. I drop by every day at some point or another. I’ve been contemplating getting back into the review/blog thing again. I do miss it.

  6. davidpwelsh says:

    If you ever feel like doing the occasional guest review, drop me a line. You’re always welcome.

  7. Tony Salvaggio says:

    Rockin! I might take you up on that!

    I actually considered jokingly sending in a request to have my own book “Clockwerx” in your licensing request queue. I can’t read French and they re-wrote a lot of book 2. (LOOOONG Story). At least the art is awesome..

    http://www.humano.com/album/35519
    http://www.humano.com/album/35600

  8. Tony Salvaggio says:

    Now I have to re-read Sexy Voice and Robo this weekend! It’s about time anyway.

