The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: S

“S” is for…

Plus a little josei:

And some deeply awesome yaoi:

And a “why isn’t this in print” addendum:

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “S”? Do I even dare to ask?

11 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: S

  1. lys says:

    SOS, the one-shot volume that introduced me to Hinako Ashihara’s work (so she’s got two s-titles!). I liked the stories in it a lot.

    Ohhh, and Saint Tail!!! Along with Sailormoon, this was my first step toward shoujo manga addiction.

    There are lots of great S titles. I just recently got the first two volumes of Song of the Hanging Sky…really really want to read more!

  2. badzphoto says:

    I’d also add Solanin and second Saint Tail.

  3. Ephidel says:

    S is a rather full letter, it seems, but most of my favourites have already been picked up on🙂

    In terms of the as-yet-unmentioned;
    Seimaden by You Higuri
    Shirley by Emma author Kaoru Mori (yes yes, I know its seinen really)
    Shoulder a Coffin Kuro (… actually, that might also be seinen? :|)
    Suki: A Like Story by CLAMP.

    Theres also the shounen ai story Seven Days which is brilliant. It hasn’t been published in english yet but DMP announced that they had the license for the first book.

    Also… well, you never had a ‘numbers’ category so I’ll also use this as a flimsy excuse to mention 7Seeds by Yumi Tamura😉
    (even though actually, I think thats josei)

    Aren’t demographics annoying😛

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    Ephidel: They’re totally annoying, but they’re kind of intriguing in an abstract way.

    I totally fudged Emma into this alphabet, but the letter “E” was a bitter disappointment! I probably could have wedged Shirley in too, but it was already choked with comics. I’m not sure what Shoulder‘s demographic is. I think it ran in a magazine that specialized in four-panel strips, so I’m not sure how much of a demographic designation it had in the first place. Great book, though, definitely one of my favorites.

    Lys: I read SOS so long ago that I completely forgot it was by Ashihara. I need to dig it out and reread it, though I vaguely remember liking it. And thanks to you and badzphoto for pointing me to Saint Tail. I don’t really need another long series to read, but that’s never stopped me before.

    badzphoto: I think solanin is seinen, and I couldn’t quite stretch that far, though I agree that it’s a very good book.

    • badzphoto says:

      oops. I totally thought Solanin was sojei, it’s full of relationship and stuff!
      Sugar princess is another cute short series by Hana-Kimi mangaka.

  5. lys says:

    Have you read Forbidden Dance, also by Ashihara-sensei? It’s been a while since I read that and SOS, too; I should dig them out as well!

    Saint Tail isn’t super long… 7ish volumes if I recall correctly (yes, 7 volumes). However, it’s definitely out of print (Tokyopop’s editions being of the same vintage as Sailormoon, and also as a Kodansha title). Maybe you can find copies used or through a library? Good luck!

  6. Ephidel says:

    Saint Tail is a cute series, and at only 7 volumes isn’t really that long. It might not be the easiest to find though.

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    I was totally confused. I was reading about the Saint Tail anime and somehow transposed the number of episodes for the number of volumes in the manga series. I didn’t get much sleep last night.😉

  8. safetygirl0 says:

    The Saiunkoku Monogatari manga, which is apparently now licensed by Viz.

    Sakura Gari, Yuu Watase’s recent work that’s dark and yaoi and set in the Taisho era. Don’t see VIz going there, it’s a lot more hard than the Kaori Yuki books. Also for Watase, her old unlicensed series Shishunku Miman Okotowari.

    And, in the spirit of the Olympics, Hisaya Nakajo’s unfinished figure skating series, Sugar Princess. A better skating manga that doesn’t fit with the alphabet is Ice Forest, by Saito Chiho.

  9. I also enjoyed reading “Sexy Guardian” also by Mayu Shinjo.

  10. the moon in autumn says:

    Yay for Song of the Hanging Sky! And I’m glad to see Suppli, too. I’m looking forward to the next volumes . . .

