The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: T

“T” is for…

It’s not technically a shôjo series, but it’s by one of the greatest shôjo manga-ka of all time, so I’ll cheat:

And how about a little josei?

And a license request to wrap things up:

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “T”?

15 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: T

  1. Rij says:

    Tokyo Babylon

    I’ll also add Tokyo Crazy Paradise to the license request block

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    I don’t know why I thought Tokyo Babylon was shônen, so that’s a big oversight on my part. Sorry!

    And Sean (A Case Suitable for Treatment) Gaffney just posted a plea for the licensing of Tokyo Crazy Paradise: http://suitablefortreatment.blogspot.com/2010/02/license-request-tokyo-crazy-paradise.html. I’m in total agreement!

  3. JRBrown says:

    For the BL representation, The Tyrant Falls in Love (counting the days until I can buy that in English – come on June, give us a release date!) and Totally Captivated for the manhwa contingent. Also, I missed the chance to list The Cornered Mouse Dreams of Cheese under “C”, so I’ll sneak it in here.

  4. davidpwelsh says:

    On the BL front, I would throw in Tea for Two; I really need to order more of that title, as I thought it was a charmer. And I’m totally game for flat-out Mizushiro yaoi, so sign me up for Cornered Mouse.

  5. JRBrown says:

    If you can read French, Cheese is out as Jeu du chat et de la souris; you can get it from Amazon.ca but Vol 1 is close to being out of print, so I’d do so sooner rather than later if you’ve a mind.

  6. I came over to throw in my support for Tokyo Babylon, but I see someone has beat me to it! Since I’m here, how about They Were Eleven too? 🙂

  7. davidpwelsh says:

    Now, why did I think that was called We Were Eleven? Probably because I am rather memory-detail challenged. (Viz would solve this problem entirely if they’d just bring Four Shojo Stories back into print, darn it.) And since were on the subject of Moto Hagio, I could also add Thomas no Shinzō (The Heart of Thomas) to the list of the unlicensed.

  8. Sadie says:

    I can’t think of one you haven’t mentioned but wanted to say that I love Two Will Come.

  9. badzphoto says:

    Excellent list.
    I’d add Tower of the future by Saki Hiwatari (the author of Please Save My Earth), Teru Teru x Shonen by Shigeru Takao, and Times Two – a standalone – by Shouko Akira (the author of Monkey High).

  10. Ephidel says:

    Theres Time Guardian and Time Stranger Kyoko, both of which were rather short (and in TSK’s case ended rather abruptly), and Trinity Blood.
    Tokyo Mew Mew too, which I recall enjoying when I was younger, but now find rather bland.

    I haven’t actually read this one, but I have picked up most of the books to read once I get v2 and 3; “Tower of the Future” by PSME creator Saki Hiwatari.

    I wanted to put forward Translucent, but I looked it up and its seinen (feh… demographics again :P).

    On a license request front though, Tenma no Ketsuzoku (or Crystal Lord Opera, which is far less T-relevant) from Keiko Takemiya. I only discovered it recently, but I really enjoyed what I read and I’d love to be able to buy it in english. I don’t know if thats likely, as I have no idea how well To Terra/Andromeda Stories sold, but I can hope🙂

  11. […] The Manga Curmudgeon, David Welsh presses on with his Shojo-Sunjeong Alphabet, now on letter “T“. I went over to express support for CLAMP’s Tokyo Babylon (probably my second-favorite […]

  12. lys says:

    Awww, I heartily second the license request for Tenshi nanka janai! We really do need more Ai Yazawa in English.

    And I second Badtz’ rec of Teru Teru x Shonen (haven’t read much of Tower of the Future yet, but I’ve got high hopes since it’s Saki Hiwatari) …looks like all the T-titles I read have been mentioned already.

  13. Eva says:

    Since several folks have already asked for The Cornered Mouse and Tokyo Crazy Paradise, may I add in They Do Love, by Seomoon Da-mi? It’s a fantastically quirky, funny manhwa and I can’t wait to for it to be licensed. Yen Press, are you listening???

  14. lys says:

    I’ve heard of it as They Too Love, but yes, I’d love to see that licensed too! I don’t read tons of manhwa, but something about that one just clicked with me when I first came across it.

  15. […] Kim Dong Hwa’s Color of… series (First Second). Also, David Welsh continues his Shojo-Sunjeong Alphabet series, now on letter “T” which includes both The Tarot Cafe (Tokyopop) and Time and […]

