The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: W

“W” is for…

And on the josei front…

And just because it’s one of the very best boys’-love titles I’ve ever read, and one of the most addictive comics of any category…

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “W”?

11 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: W

  1. Shelly says:

    Is yuri allowed? Works, by Eriko Tadeno. And I thought Wanted, by Matsuri Hino, was cute though short.

    I’ve just never gotten into Wild Adapter. I’ve only read one volume, but it seemed all cool and no substance. Am I missing something?

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    There isn’t a whole lot of substance to WA, though I found the style so absorbing that it didn’t end up bothering me. It’s unusual for me to be sucked in by execution, but Minekura pulled it off.

  3. Jan says:

    How about Yumi Tamura’s one-shot “Wild Com.”? I always feel the need to shamelessly promote her work.🙂

    This is the second time this week that Wild Adapter has been brought to my attention by the manga blog-sphere, and I’m feeling really tempted even though I didn’t much care for Minekura’s other series.

  4. Jan says:

    How about Yumi Tamura’s one-shot “Wild Com.”? I always feel the need to shamelessly promote her work. 🙂

    This is the second time this week that Wild Adapter has been brought to my attention by the manga blog-sphere; it’s getting really tempting, even though I didn’t much care for Minekura’s other series.

  5. davidpwelsh says:

    No problem, Jan! I only have vague memories of Wild.Com, though I remember thinking it was kind of like a shôjo version of the X-Men. (This was well before someone offered a shôjo version of the actual X-Men.)

    I would love to see more of Tamura’s work in English, that’s for sure. Especially 7 Seeds!

    • Jan says:

      Yes! I held out for a little while, waiting for someone (i.e. Viz) to announce an English edition of 7 Seeds after Basara wrapped up, but I ended up caving in and following the (incredibly overpriced in Quebec) French releases.

      Basara was the first manga series I really got hooked on, and Tamura’s works hold a special place in my heart. It’s a shame she doesn’t get much love in North America; I guess it’s the art…?

      • davidpwelsh says:

        It could be the look of it, which does give off sort of a classic vibe. (I don’t personally understand why that’s a deterrent for people. I love that look.) But now that Fantagraphics is getting into manga with the support of Shogakukan and an editor/curator who loves classic manga for girls… Well, my fingers are crossed.

  6. Crystalyn says:

    I actually really enjoyed Wild Act. It was one of those manga I would read on my breaks in a Waldenbooks years and years ago when I worked at a mall (and obviously didn’t fully understand the consequences at the time of my actions of just reading and not buying). I finally had the money to buy the whole series at once about 2-3 years ago, only to find it was out of print. I’m still hoping for a good e-bay deal.

    I wanted to mention Wanted as well. I actually enjoy Wanted much more than Vampire Knight. Good, cute, short one-volume series.

  7. Safety says:

    I loved A Wise Man Sleeps, it’s too bad Mick Yakeuchi supposedly never finished it, but it’s GoComi, so even if there were more, I’d be doubtful to see it at this point.

    There was Wanted by Matsuri Hino, one of the rare one-shots that got licensed here, thanks to Vampire Knight, I suppose… although I think Viz released it between MeruPuri and VK.

    Also there’s a sequel series to W Juliet, but I can’t recall the name right now…

    On the yaoi front, there’s Warera Takarara Corporation, which was supposed to come out as Naked Jewels Corporation from DramaQueen. Too bad that never happened, it’s a crack-tastic tale of a dildo company. Wackiness, nudity ensue.

  8. the moon in autumn says:

    Witch Class? Infinity put a couple volumes out once upon a time, and I remember it being a goofy, fun time. Sunjeong or possibly Chinese?

