The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: Y

“Y” is for…

It’s technically shônen, but “Y” titles are thin on the ground, this one’s all about gender identity, and I love Ai Morinaga:

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that start with the letter “Y”?

9 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: Y

  1. JRBrown says:

    On the BL front, I’m going to put in a bid for You Will Fall In Love / You Will Drown In Love, on the grounds that I love Hinako Takanaga.

  2. Rij says:

    How about a license request?

    Tsukuba Sakura, the mangaka of Penguin Revolution and Land of the Blindfolded, has an ongoing series called Yoroshiku Master. It’s about a girl who is a Santa and a boy who’s her reindeer. Really.

  3. davidpwelsh says:

    JRB: I’m only surprised that the first yaoi pitch wasn’t for Yellow, but all are welcome. Maybe I should do the yaoi alphabet next.

    RIJ: License requests are always welcome, especially if it involves Sakura and the Japanese take on Christmas.

  4. I think Your & My Secret might really be shoujo, though I was campaigning for its shounen-ness for a time myself. It looks, though, that it ran in the now-defunct Comic Blade Zebel, then switched to Comic Blade Avarus, both of which are listed by Comipedia as shoujo magazines.

  5. […] David’s Shoujo-Shonen alphabet reaches the letter Y, where the offerings are getting pretty […]

  6. JRBrown says:

    “JRB: I’m only surprised that the first yaoi pitch wasn’t for Yellow, but all are welcome. Maybe I should do the yaoi alphabet next.”

    Meh, I wasn’t taken by Yellow. I’m like the only raving fujoshi in the world who doesn’t care for Makoto Tateno.

    And a yoi alphabet would be great, but haven’t we hit most of the high points already? 😉

  7. Sonicbug says:

    You know, I really enjoy The Young Magician. It would probably make a better prose novel than a manga because of how long it takes everything to come together. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like it’ll ever be finished.

  8. the moon in autumn says:

    Your Lover from Netcomics is a good one, too.