The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: Miscellaneous

Because not everything starts with a letter…

And a little Korean josei…

And some manga-influenced sort-of yuri…

What are some of your favorite shôjo and sunjeong titles that don’t start with a letter at all?

Update: Alas, +Anima had to be bumped for its unrepentent shônen-ness, but I’ll make it up with a license request:

4 Responses to The Shôjo-Sunjeong Alphabet: Miscellaneous

  1. Rij says:

    I always thought that +Anime was shounen?

    Anyways, four license requests:

    7 Seeds
    1/2 Prince (a Taiwanese manhua)
    +C: Sword and Cornett (from Monthly Comic Zero Sum, the home of Saiyuki, Loveless, 07 Ghost and others)
    1999 Shanghai (by Mizushiro Setona!)

  2. davidpwelsh says:

    You’re absolutely right about +Anima. Lack of due diligence on my part.

    And I can’t believe I forgot to put 7 Seeds in as a license request! Must… correct… post…

  3. […] David Welsh winds up his shoujo-sunjeong alphabet with some books whose titles don’t start with a letter at all. […]

  4. Ahavah says:

    Thank you!

    1. I don’t care about demographics when it comes to +Anima. It was one of the most well-developed manga for all ages (in the true sense of the term) that I had ever read. All the characters had depth and insight, the art and character designs were spot on, and the backstories felt tragic in a realistic sense, despite the fantastical nature of children who can change into animal forms. I regret that I didn’t buy it (I read the entire series through library copies) because it is now out of print thanks to Tokyopop’s Kodansha issue, but I recomend it to everyone. If you find it in a library, you may want to check it out for a child–but make sure to read it yourself first!

    2. 50 Rules for Teenagers is a Manhwa so charming that I purchased it even after reading a library copy–ans knowing that due to the downfall of ADV’s manga division, there are no new volumes forthcoming. It’s a typical Shojo-type story with interesting family, school and potential romantic dynamics played out in a funny and engaging way. I’m waiting on NetComics (or maybe Yen) for a license rescue, so that my lonely first volume can get some company…

    3. 10, 20, and 30 has deceptively simple art potraying very comlicated relationship dynamics between 3 women of different generations, and their potential love interests. I may be in Belle’s age group, but I identified more with the teenaged Rok and her desire not to grow up and have to *deal* with all the complications life throws at us adults.

    David, of the 3 manga I mentioned, which have you read (if any) and what are your opinions of them? I’m quite curious!😉

